Question about Improved Comms - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    jy2
    jy2 is offline
    Hive Fleet Pandora jy2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    5,068
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputation
    797 (x8)

    Question about Improved Comms

    I'm not sure about how Imp. comms work. It says that I can re-roll to see if an enemy unit is hit by a "preliminary bombardment". Does that mean that all my ordinance weapons (tanks) can re-roll the hit roll but only on the very first turn? Or is it on the 1st turn that they actually fire? Does the prelim. bombard. apply to all my ordinance weapons (and thusly, tanks) or only just 1. If it's just 1, what if I put the imp. comms on my chimera or on a hellhound for that matter? Thanks.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    38
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    The "preliminary bombardment" thing confuses me too. I can't find anything anywhere in my Codex or the Rulebook which comments on this at all. Is it scenario specific or something?

  4. #3
    Member r_h_knight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Age
    54
    Posts
    64
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    26 (x1)

    In fourth edition there were some scenarios that had Preliminary Bombardment rules. In a standard fifth edition game there are no such rules, so this piece of the Improved Comms wargear is pretty much useless.

    The only part of it that is still usefull, is the ability to re-roll one reserve roll per turn.

  5. #4
    Son of LO kevin vanrooyen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,884
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    452 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by r_h_knight View Post
    In fourth edition there were some scenarios that had Preliminary Bombardment rules. In a standard fifth edition game there are no such rules, so this piece of the Improved Comms wargear is pretty much useless.

    The only part of it that is still usefull, is the ability to re-roll one reserve roll per turn.
    There was also preliminary bombardment in 3rd edition, it's just in the codex because that's the edition it was origonally made for.
    IG Best Gen 1st overall of 10 DE 4th overall of 6
    Eldar 3rd Overall/Best General of 26--2nd Overall/Best General of 7--1st Overall/Best General of 11

  6. #5
    Member major moss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    231
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    13 (x1)

    Just out of intrest dosnt the sm champter master have a bombardment if so could they be combined in a allied situation?
    If Slaanesh is the god of the Perverse, why does Nurgle have all the filth?

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Belgium
    Age
    27
    Posts
    93
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by major moss View Post
    Just out of intrest dosnt the sm champter master have a bombardment if so could they be combined in a allied situation?
    Thats a no no, because the Chapter Master has an 'Orbital Bombardment'... Something different I suppose

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts