Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I was reading the December edition of White Dwarf and came upon something interesting. In the article "A Tale of Four gamers" the Crimson Fist player had a Baneblade in his army. From reading the text i understood that said tank is from the Guard army. A question formed in my head, can 40k armies (SM in particular) take allies? If so, where can I find info and rules I can use if i wanted to add some to my army?
Yes, Marines can take allies. Most 40k Armies can, if I recall correctly.
Ok Thanks but where can I find rules on taking allies??
In their respective codices. If an army can be used as allies in an "official" or tournament game, it will be mentioned in the codex. Examples include the Daemonhunter and Witchhunter codices where it specifically states that they can be used as allies to Space Marines, Imperial Guards, or another DH/WH army and how many of each unit could be used as allies.
You can also use allies in Apocalypse games where the Force Organization Charts are relaxed and you can use all your models.
Finally, you can use allies in friendly games if you're playing with several people and each person has different armies (a game of 2 vs 2 or even more). But each army has to follow its FOC and cannot take additional allies unless stated in their codex.
But really, in friendly games, if you want to use allies, as long as your opponent doesn't mind, then do whatever you want. Remember it's all about the permissions.
The baneblade used was an apocalypse figure, that means that it can't be used in normal games and is not in the imperial guard codex. It is instead in the apocalypse expansion where you are able to take ay units, from any armies, without the FOC.
That is how he was able to take the baneblade as an ally.
IG Best Gen 1st overall of 10 DE 4th overall of 6
Eldar 3rd Overall/Best General of 26--2nd Overall/Best General of 7--1st Overall/Best General of 11
Normally, SM can use units from the Daemonhunter and Witch Hunter Codices as allies. In Apocalypse anything goes, and if your gaming group is ok with it you can take any allies you wish in normal games.
Check out ==My== blog: www.bnhblog.blogspot.com
Thanks for the info everyone. Cheers
Another important note. In daemonhunters and witchhunters codices it states you can not include IG allies in the same list as Space Marines allies. You can not put IG tanks with SM units.
There is one more exception to all these rules, IG can put a unit of Deathwatch veteran marines. This is in the rules for Deathwatch Kill Teams which exists as a downloadable PDF at GW and many other web locations....
Once a Marine, always a Marine.