Quick question about drop troops - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    jy2
    jy2 is offline
    Hive Fleet Pandora jy2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    San Jose
    Posts
    5,068
    Mentioned
    15 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputation
    797 (x8)

    Quick question about drop troops

    If I take an independent commisar and attache him to another squad (maybe conscripts, for example) and I also take Drop Troops, can I DS the whole bloody gang?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Shrug, k... Certs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,350
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    169 (x4)

    it wouldn't work with conscripts as they can't take drop troops; but for other units that can (there's a list of what can in the doctrine section), then yes, you can attack schaeffer to them during deployment and deep strike the unit in when they pass their reserve roll.
    (remember, during your deployment, you must specify which unit the character is attached to as well as declare how they will enter reserves, it cannot be changed later and you will only have to roll one dice for that unit and attached character)

    edit: didn't even realise this was a different thread, thought it was the previous one about last chancers.
    but yea, special characters without deep strike themselves cannot be attached to units that do have it. the same goes for infiltrate, scout, and other general special rules found in the rulebook.
    Last edited by Certs; January 24th, 2009 at 23:44.

    ...A blog that's mostly about Infinity, but sometimes other stuff too.

  4. #3
    Pedantic Englishman Wolf Lord Herby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Age
    26
    Posts
    1,229
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    136 (x4)

    It would work for Schaefar and Kage as they have the DS rule.

    It wouldn't for Independant Commisars, as they don't, and I'm fairly sure they're not Guard Infantry, so don't get it from Drop Troops.
    FABRICATI DIEM, PVNC

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Age
    29
    Posts
    416
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    19 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Wolf Lord Herby View Post
    It would work for Schaefar and Kage as they have the DS rule.

    It wouldn't for Independant Commisars, as they don't, and I'm fairly sure they're not Guard Infantry, so don't get it from Drop Troops.
    It says advisors are guard infantry. I don't know if independent commissars are, but it's weird for them to be guard infantry if they're not independent, and not guard infantry if they are.

  6. #5
    Shrug, k... Certs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,350
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    169 (x4)

    looking at it, for Guard Infantry unit the part closest to it is: 'command squad and any attached advisors'.
    so i'd have to say that a commissar acting independently and not as an advisor wouldn't qualify for this.

    ...A blog that's mostly about Infinity, but sometimes other stuff too.

  7. #6
    Watcher In The Sky Beardy_Wierdy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Age
    29
    Posts
    1,083
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    127 (x4)

    Yes, but its just odd if they can drop while attached to one type of squad but not another.
    The name refers to facial hair, not playing style.

    Quote Originally Posted by A news vendor's stand, London, June 1940
    French sign peace treaty: we're in the finals!

  8. #7
    Mr Commisar to you Commisarlestat's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Reading, UK
    Age
    31
    Posts
    2,885
    Mentioned
    29 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    332 (x8)

    Independant commisars fall under the independant character rules totally with all bonuses and pitfalls attached (uber squad of 9 commisars anyone?). If an independant character can join a unit and drop in pre game then yes they can if he cant they cant it hazard a no here as I dont currently have access to a rulebook.

    Hope that helps

    A

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts