Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
i just started a blood angels army and i was wondering if i could legally within the games rules take the other blood angels army as an ally if i included an inquisitor or could i just take them as a ally anyway?
1) What other Blood Angels army?
2) I you are running some form of the Inquisition then you can take on an ally. If you are runnign either Space marines or IG you can use the Inq as allies up to a certain limit (listed in the dexes). You can not run both Ig and Space marines as allies in the same list.
3) this blongs in the rules section.
As a blood angels player (if that's what you're doing) you would, for current, legal army lists be using a Space Marine codex to build your army list. (Using the phrase "legal" as what is tournament legal, and/or watertight r.e. not needing opponent's permission to use)
For published, currently legal blood angels armys you have to use the space marine codex, your space marines will just be red coloured with a well known chapter title.
They did do blood angels codexe's / army lists in two ways:
1) They published it on the website. This is fine to use in friendly games if you have a copy, I'd welcome an opponent, and i feel certain the rest of my normal gaming clubs wouldn't bat an eyelid playing vs it. (In fact, you'd get some kudos for doing it)
2) They published it in a couple of white dwarfs. (It's the same) same answer (but it's on shiny, glossy more expensive paper, which looks neater)
Now, If you're using the blood angels white dwarf / website army list, It's not really "legal" - In a tournament they require armies from published codexes (tournaments may vary, please check with organiser.)
It's really an opponents permission army - That's normally resloved by your asking: "Do you want to play my Blood angels army?" and him saying "Yes" - I wouldn't worry about it.
I think you're asking: Can I combine my blood angels white dwarf / web army list units and normal space marine units in the same army list?
Well, blood angels are an opponents permission army anyway, so if he say's it's fine, then you could (You could have a plastic dinosaur join in as a ally using carnifex stats if you wanted to and your opponent agreed)
However, my feeling on that is a definate NO. Pick one army, or the other, not both.
For example: Would you think it's Okay for a normal marine player to take his assault marines from a blood angels codex, so they're troop choices, and maybe Dark angels terminators, so they score too, and maybe his venerable dreadnaughts from space wolves to re-roll the 1st turn roll? Maybe he can take some Chaos Space Marine Predators, if the Twin Las Turret works out cheaper.
Doing things like mixing two codexes that aren't designed to do so can lead to horrible misuse. That's generally frowned upon.
I do realise that the Standard SM equipment is far superior (Land raiders have better troop capacity and machine spirit, storm sheilds are better (better save, and not just melee) and 100 other things (smoke launchers / missile launchers / signums / cyclone launchers - even ammo in a whirlwind, or options to your sgnts are better. The list goes on, and on.)
I would reccomend skipping all of these problems by simply using standard space marines. Turn your death company into sternguard / vanguard (better anyway)
Off the top of my head assault marines are 170 points for 10 in the standard marine codex, and blood angels were something like 265 for ten. Really, go standard marines, for ease of rules, and a better army.
Adeptus Mechanicus Marines: http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...ml#post1655065
woops sorry for being unclear but the title did say allies with a guard list i meant can i take the white dwarf blood angels list as allies for my guard list? and it says in the white dwarf that it counts as a published codex so i can use it in tournaments
No. Imperial guard and Space Marines cannot be legally used in the same army unless there are special pre-arranged rules between the players allowing it. If you are using tournament rules, they cannot be allied.
Yeh, if it's an official battle then you will not be able to ally the two, but if you are playing unofficially with a friend then you can, you're not exactly going to have a geeky 40k judge jump out and tell you off, are you? Oh I forgot, you'll need your opponents permission to ally them in an unofficial match, so if he says no you're in deep dung.
Warmaster Riva - Duty and Honour
"Emperor show mercy to the fool that stands against me, for I shall not"
Warmaster Demetrius, 733.M38.
can if its apocalypse yes?
As for inquisitorial stuff... as a player who does this, it requires either witch or deamon hunters main army, with guard as allies to the limits set, or vice versa, and you must have command units for both....
as for smurfs... dunno, you certainly cant take a WHOLE smurf list as allies....