Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
1) Giving them power armour. Is it allowed? I know it's hardly the best use of the points but if the poor sod is going to be on the table he might as well not die, eh? Can't see anything in the Codex that forbids it so I'm guessing as long as I WYSIWYG it it's all good...
2) If I shove a Priest with a mounted Celestian squad, does his presence mean they can charge on disembarking if there's a unit close enough? It says they HAVE to charge a unit if there's one close enough to engage and I'd choose to interpret that so it allows them to charge even when they wouldn't normally be allowed to...
On a side note, won't it be fantastic when they finally update the Inquisition Codexes so they're as clear and unequivocal as the newer ones? >_<
1) I don't see why not.
2) I'd have to say no to this. There's a difference between 'must charge' and 'able to charge'. You still have to follow the rules mechanics to assault (unless you have a special rule like the Vanguards 'Heroic Intervention' rule or the Land Raider's 'Assault Vehicle' rule), and the rules state that if you disembark from a vehicle that has moved (with the exception of the Land Raider) you may not assault.
Unfortunately, it'll be a while before they update the Inquisition codex (if at all). Probably not til next year. So for now, we'll just have to make do with what we got, good and bad.
Thing of it is though, the way they word the rule for Priests (and Holy Rage) says they MUST charge if an enemy is within reach; the only stipulation is that there must be an enemy within reach of the squad, so I'd assume it means that as long as there's an enemy within 6" of the squad they have to charge wether they'd normally be allowed to or not.
Can't has to trump is/may/must, game rules in general don't really work if you try to play it the other way around. How would any model ever be immune to anything.
"My model can't suffer instant death." "My wraith guard say you do" "But I can't" "But this rule says you do"
The other way to look at it is, "within reach". They have no eligible charge move this turn, so there are no enemies by definition in reach.
Another example would be a Chaos Dreadnought in a blood rage. Say my terminator moves within assault range of the dread and fire his assault cannon, stunning it in the process. On its turn, assuming its in a blood rage, it must charge my terminator but can't since it is stunned.
Unless it says otherwise, any special rule must still work within the framework of the basic rules. If it doesn't follow the rules (an exception), it will say so (like the Land Raider's Assault Vehicle rule which lets the unit assault even after the LR has moved). So unless the rule for the priests says that "he must and can alwayscharge if there is an enemy within reach," then it has to be interpreted as he must charge if he is able to do so.
Priests are, in the right unit, useful, even vital I would say. Unfortunately the 'right unit' is a large assault squad, and the WH codex doesn't have any of those (Repentia don't count as an assault unit, they're just too rubbish). Sticking one in a shooty unit like sisters just knackers their ability to fight. Rerolls on the charge make bugger all difference when you have the assault ability of a SoB, even for celestians. If you are using the infamous zealots from that WD they become brilliant though, increasing their number of hits on the charge by 50%. When you are getting to roll 15 Evisc attacks with 40+ ordinary attacks that is an immense increase in hits.
one thing i will say in defense of priests in power armour - arco-flagellants....
and they also, with repentia, can **** up vehicles massivley......
They also have a new use in apocalypse, where the holy war special rule means you CAN rapid-fire, and assault in the same turn....
Oh, and priests MUST always charge where legal. Repentia can be fantastich, just need to flank really....
Priests with Power armor sounds like they'd be a bit of a pain really. They're not really useless units if you find a good use for them. Sticking them with other units that have the Righteous Fury ability and try to keep the unit safe or jump it from cover to cover.
I'm of the notion that we should have fun with this and so "Tau Butter" came into being. Now you can spread the greater good on your breakfast too.