Welcome to Librarium Online!
Not sure...but please let it be yes
I was talking with another poster here and would like your opinions on this matter. I also want to see how controversial this could be in a game.
Independent characters, Brother-captains, justicars and basically any who can buy wargear from the DH codex can purchase a storm shield. Say they equip their characters with a storm shield and either a NFW or power weapon. Should they be able to claim a +1A from it since a storm shield is listed under single-handed weapon in the armoury.
It says in the wargear entry that it doesn't. Therefore... It doesn't! Sad ... I know!
In the space marines codex, it says specifically say that storm shields do not allow for the +1 A. However, in the DH codex, it doesn't specifically mention this and we all know GW didn't FAQ our storm shields. Perhaps GW left it ambiguous to make up for the lesser protection compared to the marine's storm shields?
Look at your Armoury entry as well. Storm Shield has a number 4 next to it. and that 4 specifically states that it only counts as a weapon as far as nothing else can be used by the hand holding it. I guess I have always read into it as not counting as an additional weapon. However all the SM codex's I've ever read say the same thing - it does not grant the extra attack.
Being that it states that it only qualifies as a single handed weapon for purposes of being held in one hand, and it is a sheild, i think it is safe to assume that it doesn't give the extra attack. But I would really go with the whole it doesn't work - you do not get the extra attack. Further talk will really prove pointless as it doesn't. Sadly!
Reason wouldn't be able to tell you if a energised shield can't be used as a weapon. I mean, a crackling surface full of electricity does sound like a weapon to me... But then again, attacking would mean you aren't able to use it for your defence...
From rules point of view, they put the Thundershield in the 1 handed WEAPONS catagory in the armory. Next, in the big rule book, it states you get +1 attack when you have 2 one-handed weapons (page 37). A NFS is also a one-handed weapon, so Thundershield & NFS generate an extra attack.
Tyranids Win / Draw /Lost 
Daemon Hunters Win / Draw / Lost 
Why can't daemonhunters have one of those Witch Hunter supression shields? 4++, no restrictions on when it can use its save, and a cc weapon too?!? We need that.
Thundershield? NFS? I'm assuming you mean Storm shield and NFW.
Last edited by jy2; March 9th, 2009 at 19:22.
Short answer: no.
Long answer: no way.
As Goblin said, the only reason they listed it under the one handed weapons category in the armoury is to keep people from using two one handed weapons while also equipping a Storm Shield. This was back when there were limits on how many weapons a model could take, and they didn't think it was fair to have a Storm Shield as well as a bonus attack for two CCWs.
It's obvious, to me, that they meant it to NOT give you an extra attack. They didn't intentionally leave it ambiguous to make up for anything; this is how all Storm Shields were back when the DH codex was "up to date," the new Space Marines codex redefined what a Storm Shield is as far as the save goes, but it has never, ever counted as an additional CCW for the bonus attack.
If you really want to argue it with your opponent, that's your call, but I can't think of any time in any tournament, official or non, or any time that I would even personally attempt to justify taking a bonus attack in CC while being equipped with the Storm Shield.
Its purpose is obvious, and I'd suggest just letting it go at that. The DH codex is old and badly needs an update, but until then you'll have to go with common sense.
But you can always take units from the OTHER Codex with that cool piece of wargear.
check out Farmpunk's blog:
the Back 40k
First of all, Codex: Daemonhunters is nothing like Codex: Space Marines, so the comparison between the two is meaningless. Take our Force Weapons for example. They "slay outright", instead of inflicting the "Instant Death special rule". There are many disparities between the two forces, ours obviously being the superior.
As you pointed out, there is a bulleted 4 next to the Storm Shield entry in the Daemonhunters Armory. However, consider the following:
-The Storm Shield is located in the "One-Handed Weapons" column of the Armory
-The bulleted text says "although the Storm Shield is not a weapon as such, it counts as a single-handed weapon"
-The rulebook declares you get +1 A for having two single-handed weapons, not two single-handed close combat weapons
Conventionally, a shield is not considered a weapon. However, it is written in the Daemonhunter armory, plain as day, that though it isn't necessarily a weapon as such/per se/really, it is still considered a single-handed weapon, and therefore grants +1 A to any model using it in conjunction with another single-handed weapon.
On a side note, Justicars and Brother-Captains (unless they are Grey Knight Heroes) cannot take Storm Shields because the Armory states that no model, unless they are an Independent Character, may choose from either of the weapons lists, because they are trained specifically with their standard armaments.
As with many things in the Daemonhunter codex (like Smoke Launchers), you should show the difference between our wargear and a "normal" Space Marines wargear to your opponent before play, so that he understands the difference when it is used in game.
I think to take a piece of wargear that:
-Costs as much as a Space Marine
-Is only useful in close combat
-Is only useful against one enemy model in close combat
-Takes away the Characters Storm Bolter
-Pales to a deathly white in comparison to the updated Space Marine version, which we should have received anyway
..is means enough to justify an extra attack in close combat with an Independent Character that is already outperformed by cheaper beings. (Vulkan of the Salamanders comes to mind)
Anyway, all this deliberation is simply using the Rules As Written, which state very clearly that though unconventional, the Storm Shield is a single-handed weapon.
2H - LEGIO HYDRA
What TwoHats said..
And for the reasons he said it.
I would add something.. if I could.. but he said it simply and clearly.