Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Okay, I have been in this situation a few months ago, where i was playing a friendly game with a mate where it was some of my guard army and some of my marines. I was getting some very lucky ordnance shots from the basilisk and leman russ wiping his chaos and orks outright.
However, he kind of got annoyed and looked at the rules in 5th Ed for ordnance weapons and it states that "Unless their profile specifies otherwise, all ordnance blast weapons use the large blast marker". And in the guard codex the battle cannon and earthshaker are ordnance1/blast. So now he thinks that it should fire the small blast instead of the 5" blast.
I asked 2 gw staff members, one agreed with the above statement and one didnt. I need you guys to clear it up that my tanks fire 5" blasts because there useless if so.
Yes they do fire 5" blasts. They fire 1 ordance shot and ordance shots use the large blast marker.
IG Best Gen 1st overall of 10 DE 4th overall of 6
Eldar 3rd Overall/Best General of 26--2nd Overall/Best General of 7--1st Overall/Best General of 11
Thats what i thought, thanks for your help
IG tanks have never ever used the small template in normal 40k games. Advise your friend to not whine and try to claim you're cheating when he starts losing.
Its weird, thats the thing.. he isnt a whiner player, far from it. he just found this rule and is sticking to it... i do hope when the new ig codex is out he can stop being like he is..
What's his reasoning, just out of interest?
as others have said above, it clearly says "all ordnance blast weapons use the large blast marker", and ordnance 1/blast is saying it's an ordnance blast weapon...
I can't see that there's any room for confusion. Hard to beleive in a GW rule, I know
FABRICATI DIEM, PVNC
His reasoning is that, because it says "Unless specified" and it says ordnance1/blast instead of ordnance1/large blast or ordnance1. The fact that a "Blast" refers to the smaller one used for grenade lauchers and plasma cannons... he says its that. Its ridiculous....
Offer him a pie perched on a 3' plate and when he queries you say that "oh, I thought you said a pie plates was 3'".
And secondly, it would specifically say, "use the smaller blast template" instead of saying "this is an ordnance blast weapon"
EDIT: No ordnance weapon says "large blast", do they? It doesn't have to specify that it uses the large blast template, because the rules say it only has to specify when it uses the small blast template. Just saying 'blast' doesn't specify large or small, it's the 'ordnance' bit that makes it an ordnance blast weapon, and so uses the larger template.
EDIT2: Damn. Looking at the Chaos Codex, it does indeed specify Large Blast. However, they have a much newer Codex.. The IG Codex is fairly ancient, as I've already said. It quite clearly says they're Ordnance Blast weapons.. As a last resort, point out that Chaos have Battle Cannons and Demolisher Cannons too, and they're Large Blast.. it's clearly just that methods of notation have changed over the last 2 editions of the rules.
Last edited by Wolf Lord Herby; March 12th, 2009 at 12:43.
FABRICATI DIEM, PVNC