Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
It says that thier SB counts as a pistol in CC so they'd get another attack if they had one and another 1 handed CC weapons, which the NFW is, but not gaining an extra from a charge. From my understanding, that means the vanilla PAGK gets 2 WS5 S6 attacks and the GKT gets 3, or am I mistaken?
True grit doesn't apply to the Grey Knight Terminators, only Grey Knights in Power Armor (PAGK's) or Fast Attack Grey Knights (FAGK's). Thus, PAGK's/FAGK's get 2 attacks and GKT's also get 2 attacks.
True Grit for other codices normally disallow +1A on a charge, but because 5th doesn't use True Grit anymore and the way it is worded in the DH codex, now you get to use storm bolters as a ccw and get +1A for charging with it.
Last edited by jy2; March 14th, 2009 at 14:02.
I always thought True Grit only worked in a turn in which the unit doesn't charge; i.e if your PAGKs charge into CC they don't get their True Grit attack but they get the +1 attack for charging, whilst if the combat goes into a 2nd turn they lose the charge bonus but the True Grit kicks in and they get +1 attack anyway... please tell me that's how it works, otherwise every opponent I've ever played owes me some extra close combat attacks...
I do recall reading GKT not getting True Grit now, so that would mean they get the 3 attacks on the charge, but from my understanding, the way it's worded in the codex is that PAGKs don't get the bonus on the charge because it's "too unwieldy" due to the bulk of the stormbolter or something.
P8 in the Codex; "This rule only applies to Grey Knights in power armour".
After re-reading the entry for True Grit in the DH codex, you are right Frank. "They gain the bonus attack dice for being armed with an additional close combat weapon, providing they have not charged in the same assault phase." (True Grit, DH codex, p. In 4th, True Grit was a Universal Special Rule, but in 5th, they did away with that so you only have to go with your codex. And normally True Grit in most codices and the 4th BRB explicitly says that you don't get the +1A on a charge. However, on the DH codex, it says that indirectly, which I missed. It's a good thing that I haven't been playing my DH army under 5th for very long.
This is why I'm glad I'm a Radical inquisitor. True Grit only applies for GKs in Power armour, and like Fugger pointed out, you don't gain the +1A when you charge. Pity though, a GKT with 4 attacks on the charge would be amazing!
Warhammer 40k: Blood Angels, Imperial Guard, Grey Knights, Space Lizards (wolves), Kroot, Witch Hunters, Dark Eldar
Warhammer: Lizardmen, Empire, Vampire Counts, Brettonians, High Elves, Skaven
Euhm, you don't get an extra attack when charging when you use True Grit to get an extra attack because of wielding 2 one-handed weapons.
"<snip> However, a model using their storm bolter in this manner may not receive the attack bonus for charging. <snip>"
Sorry to pop anyones bubble, but it clearly state you don't get an extra attack. It doesn't matter which edition you play, it's right there in the codex, black-on-white.
Tyranids Win / Draw /Lost 
Daemon Hunters Win / Draw / Lost 
I think there is still some confusion here. Let's summarize so that we are all on the same page.
PAGK/FAGK - Has True Grit. 2 attacks. No +1 for charging.
GKT - No True Grit. 2 attacks. +1 for charging.
GK BC/GM - No True Grit. 3/4 attacks. +1 for charging. (assuming no 2xLC, 2xPF or 2xTH)