Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I've recently come across an anomaly among how a large number of players in my home area do rapid fire. It seems they have come under the impression that if you are within 6" or so of another squad, instead of rapid firing, you may fire once and then assault. Now the problem with this is that it is not said you can do this anywhere I have been able to find. I'm wondering if this is an oddity that has come up at my play area, or if someone can provide evidence backing this up.
Thank you for any feedback.
It's certainly not in the rules, you can aks them if it's a houserule or something there but it is not the way rapidfire works according to the rulebook.
What army do your friends play, and specifically which units are you thinking about?
If Space Marines or Chaos Space Marines, as stated, they now have Bolt Pistols along with their Bolters so they can fire once and still charge.
If it is a unit without pistols, however, I'm afraid they are breaking the rules. Not only does it not say that you CAN do this, but it explicitly states that you CAN NOT:If within 12", models firing Rapid Fire weapons will always fire two shots. It doesn't even matter if they shoot once or twice, if they shoot their Rapid Fire weapons at all then they may not assault.Originally Posted by BRB, page 28