Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Just wondering if kantors hold the line rule is only gained if you use his Chapter tactics. For example if I had shrike and pedro and chose to use shrike Chapter Tactics would my sternguard still be scoring or not? To me the it seems it could go either way and I have seen it ruled both ways so just wondering what others thought.
- You must set fire to water or you will be extinguished.
I think if Hold the Line! was part of Pedro's Chapter Tactics, then no it wouldn't count if you were to use Shrike's Fleet ability. If it wasn't, then yes.
His chapter tactics and hold the line are different rules. The chapter tactics then if you used Pedro's or Shrike's or anyone elses would not affect the hold the line rule at all. So hold the line would still work.
IG Best Gen 1st overall of 10 DE 4th overall of 6
Eldar 3rd Overall/Best General of 26--2nd Overall/Best General of 7--1st Overall/Best General of 11
I think that Hold the Line is part of his Chapter Tactics, so you wouldn't get to use both (I wish I could too, but according to others in another thread like this, you can't).
Also, if you read the entry for Chapter Tactics, it says (in part) "If you include PK then all units in your army exchange the Combat Tactics rule for the Stubborn universal rule and you Sternguard Veteran squads gain the Hold The Line! special rule detailed below."
Basically the Hold the line rule is stated under Chapter Tactics so I would say it is part of it. It is only detailed outside of the Chapter Tactics heading (similar to the way rules like stubborn and fleet are in chapter tactics, but they don't explain what they are right in the chapter tactics heading).
I wish you could get Hold the Line along with fleet. That would be insane, but also somewhat overpowered (I endorse it then, but alas, the rules, they stop me)
It's part of his Chapter Tactics; if you Kantor's his Chapter Tactics your Sternguard Squads benefit from Hold The Line!, otherwise they don't. They're seperate rules, but you only get one if you take the other.
Since hold the line is part of his chapter tactics spacial rule, then you would lose the ability, but this is a rare exception based on other HQs rules. Normally they detail all of the special rules for chapter tactics in a single heading.