LS: Storm Deployment - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Lord of Shadows CleanRabbit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Wirral, UK
    Age
    31
    Posts
    603
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    77 (x2)

    LS: Storm Deployment

    A question was raised earlier today that I cannot give a definate answer to, so I pitch it to you all, as I would like enlightening.

    Can a scout squad be deployed inside (embarked) a Land Speeder Storm?

    My question comes from pages 66 & 67 of the rule book, where it only mentions units deploying inside a transport in the 'dedicated transport' section, and the LS: Storm is not a dedicated transport.

    This rule also applies (so I think!) to tactical squads deploying inside a landraider that wasn't deployed as a dedicated transport.

    My personal opinion is that, because I have not found a rule saying that units can be deployed inside a transport that isn't dedicated to the unit, both units must deploy seperately and the squad embark in the movement phase of turn 1 (or what ever turn required).

    Any clarification would be very much appreciated

    Cheers,

    CR



  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Mad Cat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Age
    44
    Posts
    4,967
    Mentioned
    9 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    951 (x8)

    I dont have a rulebook to hand but I believe that scouts may deploy in a LSS. Also tac marines can deploy in a LR.

    Dedicated transports can only contain their parent unit and any attached characters at the start. Other transports (LR, LSS, Eldar falcon etc) can begin with any unit deployed inside them.
    Quorn! - Protein for the Protein God.

  4. #3
    Senior Member darby5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Holy Terra
    Age
    38
    Posts
    350
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    36 (x1)

    I can't find the rule - seems like there are few rules on deployment - but I think you can deploy them in there, or move them in as their scout move at worst.

    It does say you can deploy units inside vehicles under reserves - so I think it would be the same for initial deployment. You can also add Independent Characters. You have to state this during initial deployment, you can't wait and decide later. (pg 94)

  5. #4
    Senior Member seismic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    montreal,canada
    Age
    35
    Posts
    301
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    40 (x1)

    I think you can deploy inside even if its not a dedicated transport.

    However a dedicated transport would deploy with any special rule the unit its dedicated to, for instance; Sicarius giving "scout" to a tactical squad with a dedicated rhino , would give "scout" to the rhino. The unit must be fully embarked in the dedicated transport for this to apply, you couldn't have Shrike , for example , join 10 assault term (giving them infiltrate) with a dedicated Land raider and have that LR gain infiltrate.

    That's how it was explain to me.
    "The things that appear are a vision of the unseen"
    -Anaxagoras of Clazomenae

  6. #5
    Member GLD1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Cardiff, Wales, UK
    Age
    32
    Posts
    243
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    65 (x1)

    Either way, the LSS has the same special rules as the Scouts - so even if someone is being awkward and saying they can't deploy in the LSS, you can just embark them in it and carry on as if they had deployed in it anyway...

    Only problem with that is the possibility of making a 24" scout move with the LSS - although I dare say that is a whole other conversation...

  7. #6
    Lord of Shadows CleanRabbit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Wirral, UK
    Age
    31
    Posts
    603
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    77 (x2)

    Thats for the info guys, its all much appreciated!

    CR


+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts