Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
You guys seem to be a more lively bunch than my Ordo Hereticus comrades. This is a question that gives me some thoughts, help me out by spilling some of your brain on this.
Is Hunter-Killer Missile considered a weapon (before or after it fired) for the purposes of Weapon Destroyed result on damage chart.
I am a little confused because it does not explicitly say that it IS a weapon; however codex says that it IS treated as a crack missile.
From the logic that crack missile is written down as a weapon in a summary table, than hunter-killer missile is a weapon.
Thanks for the replies in advance.
I've got both WH and DH dex, but alas in french... not in english... and between both, iknow that there is lots of difference (as the french one as bee reprinted in 4ed, we've got POTM, rending heavy 4 Assault canon, auto-repair rhino, etc...).
So back your question, in the HKM, the last line clearly state that HKM count as an additional primary weapon!
I don't know if it will be legit for you though.
PS : if pintle mounted stormbolter count as additional weapon, I don't can't see why your opponent wouldn't consider an HKM as one either.
Last edited by GM Tchezzarus; March 25th, 2009 at 10:36.
It's a missile so I'd say it counts as a weapon, same as the PMSB. Thing is though, if memory serves, your opponent gets to pick what weapon his shots destroy and I wouldn't think he'd be likely to pick a HKM over an Exorcist Launcher or a lascannon or something.
no, but it will give your tank another ablative wound, as you can suffer one more weapon destroyed result before it's immobilized, and then destroyed next time
probably are better uses for the missile though, but hey, you could get seriously shot up on the first rond, I know I have...
Although I believe they are weapons (1-shot missile launchers w/unlimited range), it shouldn't even be an issue because first chance you get, you should fire it right away.
However, after it is fired, I don't think it should be considered a weapon anymore as it does not shoot/do anything.
Event it is a weapon that cannot fire it is still a weapon, GW does not seem to have ruling on that. If French codex says it is a main weapon, than why wouldn't it cease to be a main weapon only if it has no shots left.
The actual ruling from GW tell us to use our codex the way it is written... Thats why GT rules are different from one country to the other! Dura Lex, Sed Lex!
I'm sure it will be nice and easy in multilangage country (like Canada, Switzerland...), where you could find different Codex!
Maybe you should try to find the Canadian GT FAQ to give you a guideline for friendly game.
Just my 2 cents, Tchezz.
I don't see anything in the DH codex that would override the BRB rule that states that our HK missiles shouldn't be treated as primary weapon. It should be obvious that since it's a single-use weapon, after that single use, you don't have a weapon anymore! Thus, HK missiles are eligible for weapon destroyed results only until you fire it.
Practically speaking, I don't see any reason for an opponent to select the HK missile for destruction unless they had no other choice in the matter. Our dreads, land raiders, and chimeras all have more dangerous options built in....
ninjabackhand: point and click, again, really? even after i give you an military term "shock tactic" you still call it point and click.
RIP Warhammer 40,000: 21 Sep 1998 - 24 May 2014