Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
In my codex it says:
"Initiates my take crusader seals at a cost of X points per model."
Does this mean, I must equip the entire squad with crusader seals at Xppm, or that I can equip as many models I like within that squad, with the seals?
Incase I didn't explain it well enough
I have a 10 initiate squad, one of them with a power fist, one of them with a flamer.
If I want crusader seals, do I have to:
A - Give the whole squad seals at a cost of X*10?
or can I choose to:
B - Give the intiate with the power fist, and the initiate with the flamer the seals, at a cost of X*2?
TY in advance.
Last edited by Raurth; March 26th, 2009 at 14:49.
I would say A, as its 'initiates(squad) take seals(plural) at points per model'
Looks like a lot of points to be spent
Usually these rules means must take for full squad look at for instance upgrades involving equipping models with granades etc.
the wording used here: "Initiates my take crusader seals at a cost of X points per model." is the standard gw way of saying all of them must be equipped. It's poorly written but thats GW for ya.
in the entry i believe it actually states all models may select Crusader Seals for X* amount of point, same with frags. You can't simply give one model CS's. Odly tho, the Crusader Seals rule states, only 1 Crusader Seal is required to benefit from the rules, so by placing the EC or an IC with them, they will benefit from the Righteous Zeal re-roll.
Check out Double Edged Painting blog for more information on commissions and work in progress
I believe the reason the wording is a little confusing is because you only have to give the Initiates in a Crusader Squad the seals, you don't have to give them to the Neophytes in the same squad, but they reap the benefits of them as long as at least one Initiate is still alive.
Therefore in a Cruasader squad with 10 initiates and 10 Neophytes you only pay (x) points for the 10 initiates, you pay 0 points for the 10 neophytes, but the entire squad gets the benefit as long as at least 1 initiate is still alive.
Thank you for your replys, tis as I thought.
Another quick question if I may:
Initiate Bikers and attack bikes.
The codex isn't really particularly clear on what equipment the bikers themselves have. Whilst it's obvious that the bikes have TL Bolters, and the Attack Bikes the Heavy Bolters, what weapons are the bikers themselves using?
The entry allows you to swap the "initiate's bolt pistol" for a specialist weapon. Does this mean they only have a bolt pistol? Do they have a Bolt Pistol and a C.C. Weapon? If the latter, why does the weapon options allow them to swap the "Bolt Pistol" for a "Power Weapon"? I'm simply trying to work out how many attacks an initiate bike would have on an assault, for instance. The profile says 1, assault gives them 2, but there is no mention in the "equipment" section of their profile that mentions what weapons they have, not even aforementioned swappable bolt pistol.
Sorry for the repeated questions, but I'm finding the GW wording a little... lax.
The Initiate Bikers apparently have bolt pistols, and that would be all; there is an option to upgrade the bolt pistol to another weapon, so it's safe to assume that's everything they've got. As for the Attack Bike, there are no additional weapons beyond what is already listed, so the Bikers do not have any other weapons.
That's my take on it.