Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Can I take Land Raider for Inquisitor from Elites and can I have 0 retinue for it?
Can Sisters of Battle use this Land Raider?
On the first question I believe you can....
On the second question, yes the sisters can board the land raider but they could not start the game embarked on the landraider.......
I like to take a naked inquisitor and give him a familiar as a retinue then buy him a land raider. 276 points for the land raider with inquisitor and all.
If you buy an Inq+retinue (even just a familiar), then NO one else can ride on the LR even if the familiar dies or the Inq disembarks or dies also.
Why no one?
So I would have thought anyone can ride in the LR, but only the =I= and familiar (or whatever) can start the game embarked, like the guy above said.
Anyone can get in a transport in 5th ed....as long as the transport can hold them, and the units codex entry doesnt specifically state that they cannot get into a transport aka accro flags..
Page 33 of the codex, in the box at the top(first sentence), says "may only transport the unit it was bought for".
"When Blood Speaks, Shadows Answer."
Well there you go.
Mind you, if anyone told me one of my WH tanks couldn't transport a different unit from the one it was dedicated to because the codex happens to have a reprint of obsolete dedicated transport rules I would give them a withering look, say "OK, fair enough," play it their way, and then never play them again.
If someone needs to be that unreasonable to win then they can have their stupid little plastic soldier victory. I hope it keeps them warm at night
EDIT: Hey I just searched the rule book and the UK GW website errata/FAQ section. The WH FAQ says that the second print run removed the bit about dedicated transports only being used by their own units. So we're in the clear, and Silent Ninja has an old codex
Also, I can't actually find anywhere a rule saying that codices overrule the rule book. If I'm wrong maybe someone can point me to it. If I'm right and there is no such rule then the "rule" people often fall back on to justify terrorizing their opponents into using outdated material to their disadvantage is not a rule at all, but a convention and so can be ignored.
Last edited by Kahoolin; March 31st, 2009 at 02:02.