Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I've decided to add 3 Attack Bikes to my Salamander army. In order to stay true to the fluff, I've decided to a Quad conversion. I think this does a fantastic job of representing the gravitational issues and rugged terrain of Nocturne.
I'm curious if these conversion would be "legal" at a GW/RTT tournament? I think the second Quad that has two marines may not be an issue, but I'm concerned with the first conversion that has only one marine.
Any thoughts? Thanks!
Single Quad - http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s...ngleMarine.jpg
Double Quad - http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s...TwoMarines.jpg
I reckon it should be all right as it is clear they represent attack bikes, but the single marine bike may be a bit dodgey, as theyre meant to have two wounds (for the two seperate models) and.... wait a minute, yeh, it should be fine!
just remember to ask your opponents permission but im sure itll be fine
oh my GOD they are epic conversions (*offers money*)
They seem to show exactly what weapon is on them, so I would believe that they are 110% tauney leagal mate. They should be fine no matter where you take them IMO!
Seriously nice conversion though.
Thanks! I can't take ANY credit for these conversion though! I'll post the links so those who have wicked skills get credit .
And yes they are awesome conversions! They fit my Salamander Fluff perfectly!! Since it sounds like they're legal, I may go with the single Quad option. It looks cleaner to me and easier hehe.
Quad 1 - Scorpion MkIa Attack Quad Conversion - WarSeer
Quad 2 - Atbug1
In most games I wouldn't see you having any problems, but I'd be cautious with tournaments; be sure to ask your local tourney organisers before taking them there. I wouldn't think that they would tell you you can't use the single quad, since the profile simply states two wounds, not necessarily two models.
Post pictures when you get around to doing your own conversions!
Yeah, this one doesn't strike me as much of an issue - simply, you're using mostly GW materials, and the size of both bikes (even the single) is in line with the attack bikes.
The attack bike doesn't come with a base, but it's more than reasonable to use a large-circle MC base. If you did that on these as well, I think you'd be perfectly fine.
I hadn't thought of using a base. I'm sure it'll be a nice addition too. At least it'll give it some more stability. I'll certainly posts pics when they're ready!
And thank you all for the rule clarification. I'll make to check ahead of time with any tournament organizers.
I think there might be an issue with the single bike when it comes to firing. I don't have the book in front of be but if I recall correctly. You can fire one weapon for each crew member, so tec hnically the single can;t fire the main gun and the tl boter at the same time. Someone with a book handly feel free to correct me if I am wrong.
And as a side note I think the conversions are great as well
You're correct, an Attack Bike sports a TL Bolter and a Heavy Bolter or Multi-melta. However, given this is space marines we're talking about, he could probably fire both - just say a trigger is wired to each handlebar. Logic only applies out of force of habit in 40k.
"The sergeant major asked me what my job is. I told him it's to do what I am told. He gave me a medal. I like the Imperial Guard."
"Innocentia Probat Nihil"
well i saw a ravenwing army in some GW GT photos about 7yrs ago using landspeeders converted into desert buggies, trikes, four-wheelers,choppers etc if something similar can be used in a gw event with international interest then a local tourny shouldn't need consideration.
I say if you local tourny organiser doesn't let you tell him where to go. you could say it has a small machine spirit, auto target aquirer (ATA), immediate threat nuetralizer system (ITNS) make up something in no way do i see why you have too ask opponent its clear what it is/represents (both models). I'd happily knock some sense into anyone who dis-agrees for you