Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
As DH player you can take IG platoons as allies, but do those this include steel legion units? As a DH player I play grey knights because of the awesome ass models ,but mancount comes always in handy in a game and the cadian models just don't fit. So can you use steel legion (with their special rules, if they have them) or do I just need to use the models as Cadian ones.
P.S. Help destroying the heretic by joining my Grey Knight army (Link below)
Dont anger the dragon, he'll let it rain on you all day long. :P
Steel Legion are simply models, just as Tallarn, Catachans, Cadians, Mordian Iron Guard, etc. are. They do not have their own special rules that are legal by the current (or future) codex Imperial Guard.
They do have rules (I think) in the way old codex Armageddon, which aren't really applicable anymore. The only other armies off the top of my head that have special rules of their own are Death Korps of Krieg and the Vostroyans, both Forge World (I think).
You can only choose units from codex Imperial Guard for your DH army, and you can use any Imperial Guard models you want to represent said units.
As the great raven said. Use any models but they must follow the standared IG dex. Same with SM allies. You can have SMurfs, Space wolves, Dark angels, Blood angels, Black templar MODELS but must follow the standard SM dex RULESnot the aboves codexs.
Basically allied guard are just generic guard.
I hear and I forget, I see and I remember, I do and I understand
Success is the ability to go from failure to failure without losing your enthusiasm.
The Steel Legion are ultimately characterized by the entire army being mechanized in Chimeras. With the current codex, no, you can't, you can only include 1 Armored Fist Squad for every Infantry Platoon. With the new codex, yes, you can, all Infantry Platoons can ride in Chimeras.
Last edited by counterwavecounter; April 5th, 2009 at 08:38.
"The man in the bowler hat is Mr. Average in his anonymity. I, too, wear one; I have no great desire to stand out from the masses." - Rene Magritte
So, yes... you can include Steel legion units in you DH army. Platoons, armoured fists, sentinels and a LRBT.
It's worth a krak!