Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I've got a few questions and idea with this:
Does anyone have experience with the ability or why it should/shouldn't be taken?
Also would running 2 chapter masters in a 1500 pt list be really frowned upon? They aren't listed as unique, and the way I see it, it isnt abusing HQ abilities any more than taking named special characters as HQ and basing your army to exploit that.
If the army deploys fairly close together and I manage to get 1st turn, two of these could potentially cripple the opponent before their game begins, especially if they are hiding juicy things packed behind cover. Also with 2 chances, you are more likely to hit it. It could be 50 (master vs captain x2) points to turn 1500 vs 1500 to 1500 vs 1250 pretty quick.
Another use would be to save it up late game, assuming both survive, and to deny objectives. If the enemy is holding some objective out of your reach or will be on their way to contest one of yours which you cannot support before they get there, you can call upon this to reject them.
Finally, can this move be used if my masters are in assault? The only restriction is if they had not moved in the movement phase and is used in the shooting, but does not talk about whether they would be too busy to call the strike if they were tied up in CC.
Fluffvise 1 chapter master is ok.
Rulevise knock yourself out with 2!
The orbitalbombardment is awsome for taking out nasty units like nobz, instant kill annyone?
I started fielding a master last game and i will damn sure continue to do so, his higher cost then a regular captain is something im willing to pay for the bombardment!
Edit*: The bombardment counts as firing a ranged wep. Therefore you cannot use it while locked in CC.
Last edited by Sleman; April 13th, 2009 at 09:33.
yes you would lose sportsmanship by fielding 2 masters as ther is only ever 1 hence chapter master name it is awesome but no doubt about it. just expect frowns though
It is certainly dodgy fluff-wise but acceptable in the rules as it does not specifically state anywhere that the Chapter Master is unique (even though obviously it is). I have noticed a similar problem crop up quite often with the Eldar Avatar as well.
Orbital Bombardment is brilliant for taking out absolutely anything, but watch out if you're firing it where it could conceivably scatter into one of your own units
I've ran 2 chapter masters before on two occasions. Each time my opponent went "is that a Master and a Captain?" and I had to make sure he understood.
The first time was against Necrons. 2xOB's, 1 hit, 1 scattered 3 inch and together took out almost two squads of warriors. (WIN!)
The second time was against Orks. I expected to decimate loads, however he know what was comming and spaced his models out during deployment to try and maximise the 2inch coherency rule. Needless to say, I killed about 7 Nobs and got on with the game...
OB is very nice, but sometimes those 25 (or 50 ) points can be better spend elsewhere for a weapon that isnt always going to work...
Saying that though, I never leave home without one of my Masters.
(FYI - I bought two Tac squads from a friend in Smirf colors, so painting one up blue covered my story of 'masters working together' or whatever =} )
Eh..? your example with the orks was supposed to be a bad one? or what are you saying? 50 pts for taking out 7 nobs seems more good enough to me.. given that the nobs ungeared are about three times that price..
Warhammer 40k: Blood Angels, Imperial Guard, Grey Knights, Space Lizards (wolves), Kroot, Witch Hunters, Dark Eldar
Warhammer: Lizardmen, Empire, Vampire Counts, Brettonians, High Elves, Skaven
That's why I said it's dodgy fluff-wise and not unacceptable. You could certainly come up with something to explain it (you can come up with something to explain almost anything) but in a normal situation it would be questionable.
It's perfectly cool to use 2 Chapter Masters (also devilishly evil, but I like that), but I question the points that get used in a 1500 pointer considering that comes to 250 points (with no upgrades). Overall, you might be better off taking other units, since 125 points will buy you a pretty awesome unit of troops, like a beefed up Predator, or 3 Attack Bikes, etc.
OBs, in my experience (which is to say, terrible luck experience) have only landed blows maybe 1 in 5 times (then again, my closely stacked horde battles have been limited, so that might be due to facing more spread out foes). Seriously, scatter kills (I've never actually rolled a direct hit with an OB ).
But if you want to take 2 CMs and can make them work, go ahead. The OBs are great when they hit home, so my mild disdain for them is only personal. MathHammer says "Bomb Away!"