Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Are you able to take a bolt pistol on the same hand as your holding your storm shield like a combat shield or is a storm shield a one handed shield which takes up one hand?
I'm not sure about wielding a pistol in the same hand as a storm shield although the general rule I follow is that if the model can use it and the points have been paid for it then its all good. For example my chapter master has a stormbolter, relic blade and storm shield. Common sense says that the blade will be sheathed when not in use freeing up a hand to fire the stormbolter. Just won't receive the extra +1A in CC is all
The only models capable of doing this are the command squad veterans. However, even if you equipped them with a bolt pistol, stormshield, and powerweapon/closecombat weapon they would still only get their base number of attacks due to the stormshields rules stating that you can NEVER gain an additional attack for closecombat weapons. If i'm building an expensive command squad I give them plasmagun stormshield and lightning claw/thunder hammer.
Feel free to model the bolt pistol in the same hand, it will not affect the gameplay in any manner.
the codex very clearly states you may replace either your pistol or CCW with a storm shield, replace means its gone, you no longer have it, you cannot use it, nothing is there
it also means you cannot have a storm bolter, relic blade and storm shield, like Balthamal does, which is unfortunately an illegal weapon loadout
Last edited by Stella Cadente; April 23rd, 2009 at 22:28.
Actually in the 5th edition space marines codex it states that any veteran in the command squad may have a storm shield. It doesn't replace anything. All the weapon options replace certain things, but the storm shield is extra.
If I remember right its covered in the FAQ with a lightning claws question. I believe you can it just doesnt offer you a +1 A in combat as you already have a CCW and Storm shield. which already does that. The bolt pistol would be in your CCW's hand as its difficult to put a storm shield away while a sword just goes into a sheath (or however you spell it).