Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
A few points i would like to bring up about Storm Troopers which the codex doesnt seem to address...
1. They now fire Lasguns... hotshot ones but lasguns all the same... does that mean they benefit from an extra shot when given the right order?
2. As in the old codex they can take a dedicated transport..... but in the old dex it said they may not deepstrike or infilrate if taking one.... in the new one it states nothing of the sort so obviously we can deepstrike our chimeras if attached to them.... can we use the special operations rules with a chimera?
Recon: Scout ability is always useful
Airbrone Assault: SOOO many tactics from keeping them in the tank to disemarking them, using the tank as cover. Next turn if it survives drive out the way giving LOS to the enemy unit u wanna hit keeping ur stormies covered from everythin else but letting them make use of there full 18" range. Plus u could get 3 Chimera behind the lines using this or directly on objectives... just a thought
Behind enemy lines: If your using it dont take the transport cus tranports cant infiltate end off.
Last edited by Mercian; April 23rd, 2009 at 23:58.
They do not benefit from FRF!SRF! A hotshot lasgun is not a lasgun, in the same way a storm bolter is not a bolter.
Storm Troopers do not have to be deployed with their transport anymore. Good catch, I think I'll buy a Chimera for my Stormies so they have the option of outflanking in it.
Hmmmm its still a Lasgun :'( im gonna throw my dummy out the pram on this one only because it seems to imply there was a reason behind the renaming
The reason is probably in order to avoid confusion between Inquisitoriai Storm Trooper hellguns. Hotshot lasguns are no more lasguns than bolters are heavy bolters.
If the order said it affected "lasgun type weapons" you might have a case, but it doesn't. It says it affects lasguns.
One of the staff I spoke to at my local GW reckons they'd get FRF!SRF! because their hot-shot lasguns are still lasguns. They look like a fairly attractive option to me, especially considering how utterly ordinary they were in the previous incarnation.
EDIT: They can't Infiltrate with a Chimera because the Infiltrate rule in the BRB specifies that's not allowed. Likewise the Scout special rule specifies that a Scout unit in a dedicated transport gets to make their Scout move in the ransport. I'm not too sure about DSing.
Last edited by Frank Fugger; April 23rd, 2009 at 23:56.
"Local GW staffer says so" is not much of an arguement. They are about as knowledgeable on the rules as random people on the Internet anyway.
I agree entirly Frank its the exact logic i was using.... im more than happy to be proven wrong but i stick by my guns its a lasgun
ps. Edited original post when i got out my rulebook and checked all the different abilities, musta done it whilst u read my first post . They cant infilrate as u say but can scout and Deepstrike
Sorry but it's wishful thinking. The order says that it affects lasguns, there is a weapon in the armoury called a lasgun. That's what the order affects.
A storm bolter is not a bolter. A hotshot lasgun is not a lasgun.
There probably will be an FAQ, since people who don't understand how to read the wording correctly are likely to carry on blithely stating "but it's a lasgun!" regardless.
Storm Troopers can still infiltrate actually, they just can't infiltrate if "deployed in their transport". Leave the transport in your deployment zone and then infiltrate them.
Last edited by muukip; April 24th, 2009 at 00:11.
We're going to have to agree to disagree on this I think. To be fair I can see your point, I suppose I'm just a bit more permissive. If there was a FRFSRF-type rule which affected bolters I'd allow someone to play it so it affected storm bolters to the same extent; they're seperate items, fair enough, but they have the same word in the name.