Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
As the title says, can you drop an empty drop pod and keep your squad back in your deployment zone?
Check out ==My== blog: www.bnhblog.blogspot.com
The DA FAQ states you may. This obviously carries over to the other SM codexes. So yes you may, but I dont see why you would want to.
maybe to have the squad hold an objective while the drop pod contests another one. could work, if the pod came in late enough in the game
or if it was a kill point mission, you decide you want to keep your drop pod army together rather than arrive piecemeal. (since you have your army list built before the mission is decided, and if it ended up being annihilation, keeping the army together since turn 1 could be the best way to keep the army strong)
i don't use drop pods, so i'm just speculating. but maybe these could be reasons?
Groovy. Thanks guys.
or if your going against a swarmy nids or ork army you can drop the pods down empty just to get in the way of their run
@dude5767 wouldn't they just benefit from this..? then they would have something to assault and thereby slingshooting them closer and next turn they can just wander off.. it could even be screening them.. but hmm.. then of course they'll be standing closer together.. eh..
I didn't think of consolidation.. just the charge.. of course that's not a great deal if they were just running anyway.. unless they got fleet or leaping..
also if your opponent knows your playing a drop pod army and they opt for first deployment first turn. You watch them bunch themselves up to defend against the drop pod assault then you string your army along the table edge and drop empty pods to help keep em huddled together while you advance and encircle