Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Can a captain having a combi melta or other combi guns have hell fire rounds for the combi's bolter or is it for the normal bolter only?
And can you wound any model on a 2+ with the combi weapon's bolter
Yes, the hellfire rounds are usable in a combi-weapon. Combi-weapons can be thought of as the model wielding two weapons - a bolter, and a single-shot special weapon, as separated in the Combi-Weapons section on page 97.
Regarding your second question, I'm not sure what you mean. The hellfire rounds will follow the rules for hellfire rounds as listed on page 100, and the rules for Poisoned attacks can be found in the main rule book.
1. Any type of bolter weapon including: bolt pistol, bolter, combi-bolter, & storm bolter.
2. Yes, as long as the combi-bolter is using hellfire rounds and as long as the target is not immune to poisoned attacks (I can't think of any that are).
no it says only BOLTGUNS below the hellfire rounds descriptions
1. Any type of boltgun weapons including: bolter, combi-bolter.
Hmmm that's the first time I've seen someone point it out. Most of the time combi-weapons have always been assumed to be a bolter + extra single shot for purposes of special ammunition.
The best way to explain why combi-weapons can use hellfire rounds is to refer to the Sternguard's entry on page 63 regarding special ammunition.Since hellfire rounds are also listed here, it should be enough to satisfy anyone who wants to deny us hellfire rounds on combi weapons"Each special ammunition type replaces the boltgun profile (including boltguns that are part of a combi-weapon) ...".
If you read the entry for Combi-Weapons, it pretty much goes to state that you can either "fire the boltgun" or fire the single shot special weapon. Since it's distinguished between the two, I see no reason why the hellfire rounds do not work for the boltgun part of the combi-weapon. Hence, why I stated you should treat combi-weapons as "two" weapons; a bolter and a single-shot special weapon, since in effect that's what it is, even according to the rules entry in the codex.
Failing that, the Sternguard entry that Firaya listed is a good alternative argument.
what if you have 2 combi weapons, is that a good thing or a bad thing, you still have 3 CC attacks and you get to have 2 melta shots if you have 2 combi meltas.
If this is allowed can you shoot 4 shoots of bolter fire. I don't think this is allowed
a boltgun or combi-weapon requires both hands to fire. I would say that a captian could take two combi-weapons, but could only fire one at once.
but he still gets to fire both melta and plasma shots right but in different turns