Welcome to Librarium Online!
Here is the deal, I want to take a company standard bearer in my command squad but would also like to have him equiped with a flamer. Is that legal or do i have to have one of the other vets take the flamer and give the standard bearer a CC weapon? Thanks for the help.
No, you can't equip one guy with both flamer and banner.
Only unupgraded guys can take special weapons
Arch Overfiend & Grand Despot
I currently play:
Doom Eagle Space Marines
Hive Fleet Omega Tyranids
Goff Ork Boyz(dead)
Tau of O'me
Inquisitorial Xeno Hunters
and my attempted foray into fantasy
'Dark Angel Green' Dark Elves in need of fluff
Well thats no fun he would have looked epic with it. Thanks for the quick reply
omegoku is right. Once you upgrade a vet to take the banner, he cannot take any other wargear options.
Side note - what wargear does the banner bearer get? Does he keep his BP/CCW for +1attack?
The codex doesn't state that he is equiped any differently than before as far as I can tell. And the choices for weapons said any vet so I was assuming since he could possibly fire a bolter why not a flamer.
I don't know where you get that idea from, it says "one veteran may carry the company standard" Is he still a veteran? Yup. then it says "any veteran may replace..." Since he's still a veteran, there's no reason he can't. Apothecaries can't take upgrades because they're apothecaries not veterans. Same rationale for the company champion.
"Science has made us gods even before we are worthy of being men." - Jean Rostand
Agrees with Henshini. It doesn't say anywhere that the veteran is upgraded. He is just a normal veteran (who can take equipment as any of his brothers) with the standard.
And to the question about what equipment he has, well, just the same as before you gave him the banner. It's doesn't say anywhere that the banner takes up a hand. You could mount it on his back or on his bike if you wanted.
Last edited by ZaranVI; April 28th, 2009 at 18:32.
"Only by defeat of the madness within can we hope to tame the beasts of our souls." - Chapter Master Erebes
There are three separate stat lines in that entry. They are Company Champ, Apothecary and Veteran. It says you upgrade a Veteran to be a Company Champ and it tells you what gear it gets. For the standard it says one Veteran may carry it, but there are no upgrades associated with it. He is still a veteran, he is just carrying the standard. Then is says Any Veteran can take a different weapon from the listed weapons, and that includes the Veteran who is carrying the standard. I upgrade my Standard bearer to have a power fist simply because it looks so awesome.
Furthermore in the Dark Angels FAQ (not directly on point but essentially comparable) is specifically says a model upgraded to apothecary or standard bearer can still be given extra wargear such as lightning claws, flamers, plasma guns, melta guns and other items because they are "extraordinary individuals."
Here is a link to that document: http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_...dition_FAQ.pdf
Once a Marine, always a Marine.
Ok, according to RAW(Rules as Written), the model holding the standard is still a veteran. However, the company champion would not be able to take any wargear upgrades. The same goes for the apothecary. The rationale behind this is the different stat lines.
However, it can be interpreted like this. "Before you upgrade the Veteran to a Company Champion, you buy him all sorts of wargear (fists, storm shield, etc etc). Then you upgrade him to a Company Champion. Nowhere in the rules does it say he loses or replaces his wargear with the other stuff (If he did, he would potentially lose his power armor). So from an RAI (Rules as Interpretted) argument, I would argue that the Company Champion can take extra equipment because you would just buy the wargear before buying the Company Champion upgrade.
Two totally different arguments but both are logically true. It all depends on how your opponent interprets the rules. Most games I have played with a company champion involves him and a storm shield. I have never met any opponent who complained about this.