Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Now back in the day it typically wasn't worth it for the average SW player to use a Leman Russ Executioner variant. The same goes for 5th ed, now, But...The executioner is back! In the new guard codex of course.
But here's my question: Do you guys think the steelers have a chance at the super bowl this year?
Seriously though my question is whether the new guard codex alters the entry in the SW codex? like the hvy 4 twin-linked autocannon or the fact it can be taken in squads etc.
I figured if DH and WH can do it with their variants then why the hell could'nt SW!
As for the DH/WH - there is no Leman russ entry to change in the codex, there is only a line that reads 0-1 Leman Russ Battle Tank (with the small print indicating that the unit is taken exactly as it appears in the Codex: Imperial Guard).
DH/WH get the vanilla Battlecannon variant as an Inducted Guard unit; it says "Leman Russ Battle Tank", not "Leman Russ variant". The SW have always had the Exterminator as far as I'm aware, not the Executioner, and like A.T says you have to use it as it's described in the SW Codex. The fact it doesn't say exactly what vehicle wargear from Codex: Space Marines you can put on it means you could could feasibly go ahead and throw all sorts of crazy crap on there at the cost listed... except the costs aren't listed anymore
shiza! thats what I exterminator variant!
There's too many new variants its easy to het confused =(.
Here's my thing though the squadron would be cool, don't get me wrong but the biggest monkey on my back is the fact that a SW one has a twin-linked autocannon while the guard one has an exterminator autocannon. I want that extra 2 shots! What's the difference? It's the same tank!!!!!!! It's like taking a SM rhino in a BT list, the only difference is the point value!!!!!
DH&WH may have 0-1 for battle tank but that 0-1 is taken from codex Ig implying it can be 3 leman russes in one slot =). score one for the hunter!
Last edited by girlhunter2102; May 6th, 2009 at 06:12.
I've already talked to various members of GW staff about DH and leman russes (which wasn't my question) as there are 4 in the area, and they've all said that DH and WH can take 3 leman russes for your 0-1 slot.
And that's the story on how DH and WH's in California got 3 Leman Russes for one slot. I have no clue about the ruling at other stores.
My SW would still like to know how they're exterminators work now! I can't fix the title...sadly.
I still don't see how taking a squadron of 3 Leman Russes would be possible in a DH/ WH army list. For one thing there's the fact it says "0-1 Leman Russ Battle Tank", and says nothing about Squadrons. Then of course there's game balance to consider. 3 Russes plus a load of mounted Sisters squads? Or two Land Raiders, 3 Leman Russes, a couple of PAGK squads and some Terminators?... that's got a bigger beard on it than Grandma Fugger. And she's half-Hungarian.