Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
IMO, there are number of occasions that it is beneficial to hold a unit in reserve for an extra turn or two. For example, you have built a unit around the specific task of taking out a particular unit of our opponent. So you want it to enter after your opponents unit comes in from reserve in order to avoid being taken out before hand.
Anyway, I think that the astropaths special rule should allow a re-roll much like improved-comms used to (or a +1/-1), rather than just always adding +1 to your reserves roll.
This is not really a complaint, but I thought that it might provoke some discussion.
It's worth a krak!
The astro is mainly useful for the outflanking reroll. Knowing where outflankers will show up is even more critical than when.
But yeah, I used to use Improved comms to "push back" my drop troops objective takers until the LZ was cleared. I will miss that.
RecklessFable's Journey to Mediocrity (Painting an IG army)
I've been addicted to World of Tanks lately and neglecting my IG... But it is so... much... fun!
Yeah it would have been nice to be able to "control" the bonus a bit more. Still, the niche the Astropath fills is fairly narrow, and as Reckless said, most people will use Astropaths to influence their outflanking deployment as opposed to more standard reserves.
From a mostly fluffy standpoint, you'd think if the mission was important enough to include an astropath, said astropath could be like, "hey not yet..." to the reserves that were about to jump into certain death, but then again I guess the Imperium's most readily available assest is bodies, so they might not care. I dunno.
Formerly known as SimulatedSnowman