Welcome to Librarium Online!
Please weigh in on the Master of Ordnance, after looking at the rules he uses I believe that he is almost a must have in any list. I will attempt to list the Pros and Cons and let you come to your decision.
Provides a strength 9 AP 3 Ordnance, Barrage weapon. This means no cover saves and roles an extra D6 on vehicle penetration where you take the highest.
Can be done without line of sight.
Always scatters even on a hit die, with a maximum 3D6 scatter.
Requires the CCS to be stationary.
Makes the CCS a bigger threat, i.e. bullet magnet.
The pros to taking this guy for a mere 30 pts outweigh any cons in my opinion. The mere fact that is ignores covers saves is what makes this really shine. The extra scatter is more or less the main downside. I would treat this guy as a 30 pt basilisk and be wary of trying to fire in close proximity of your own troops.
I used the MoO today in a 1k game, and I have to admit, when I put him on my list I was sceptical.
HOLY CRAP SIRS.
He was awesome. Now granted, I rolled pretty well for scatter, but he earned back his cost by a facter of 10 times or more. My opponets CSM didn't know what hit them. Now like many models, it all comes down to the favor of the dice gods, but today, the MoO won my game for me.
Hirum (my newly named MoO) will forthwith have a place in my army. For 30 points, I believe he's very much worth it.
Lord Busey see's all.
Played him in a 1000 point game today as well. What happened with me, with a good scatter roll was that he ended up getting his points back himself, killing 6 Orks that were in cover, making the rest of the squad out of it, allowing me to clean up the rest of the squad easily. He ended up getting clipped later though.
It's only been one game, but, I do like him.
I don't see why not to take him!
Just because you tossed 'em in with your CCS, doesn't mean said CCS cannot move, as others might seem inclined to believe. Rather, just because you tossed 'em in with your CCS, doesn't mean you have to use him, as others might seem inclined to believe
Cheap as he is, nothing more than a turn or two of shooting (for even just the chance at hitting something) would be worth such a paltry investment of points. You needn't kill six Ork Boyz to make back your points, as few points as he costs for his ability.. he need only the opportunity to fire once or thrice.
I've recently become a fan of this thing called Dubstep. And you should too.
Datsik & Flux Pavillion - Crunch (Youtube)
Da Moo Kowz is da drinkinest Orks of dem all!
Does the cow man need line of sight on his target? Just says that it counts as a shooting attack in the codex...
But I think hes pretty worthwhile now, and is the CORRECT use of a basilisk in the table top concept of 40K (unless you are playing an artillery battery of 9...)
I have heard some people say that if you also take a mortar in the squad then. if the mortar fires first, the master of ordnance uses the multiple barrage rule in the rulebook, That is the master of ordnance is now more accurate (as mortars can role a hit and only scatter 2d6 then his ordnance blast is lain adjacent to the mortar blast (his shot is a barrage weapon)).
Personal i believe who ever would play like this is being a shit bloke because it is a bit of a cheep shot.
It was brought up somewhere on the forums (cannot remember where) and well I';m hoping someone disproves/proves it. I certainly cannot find anything to disprove it.
Also yes the master of ordnance is very good value and all should take him.
Is unreliable, but even if dont hit anything the fear factor on the oponent is worth the points that these cost. In my opinion is a good investment and a must have for any infantry only army list.
"The only valid test is combat; the only valid result is victory"
Ardak Kumerian, Klingon Admiral.
I'm fenced. In my one experience with him, the drifts-no-matter-what rule really hurt me, causing him to miss an otherwise perfect set of shots.
But that game, all my drift rolls for all my guns were aweful. I hate vassal soooomuch.
"Speed is life! You go slow, you die!"
-Sgt. Unther, Mechwarrior 2: Mercenaries
Adeptus Mechanicus Marines: http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...ml#post1655065
Page 32 of the Main Rulebook.
"To determine if a unit wounded by a barrage weapon is allowed a cover save, always assume the shot is coming from the center of the marker, instead of the firing model. Remember that models in area terrain always get their cover save ..."