Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I understand this rule and all, but does this also apply to Space Wolves??
And While we are on the topic with Space Wolves, I wanted to know about this counter-attack rule. I see that the rule says that when you get charged, you do a defender's react that counts as charging also. Now with space wolves, our codex says we just do a defender' react.
So say if the new counter attack rule does apply, does that mean blood claws would get 4 attacks each when the enemy charges, given they pass their Leadership test?
I'm not sure about the first turn assault drop pod question. Is that a rule specific to the Space Marine codex? You folllow the rules for drop pods found in the SM codex. But if the first turn drop pod assault is a rule for armies in the SM codex, then it does not apply to SW. Ill let someone else here answer this question better.
I'll answer the counter-attack question. Check out the Space Wolves FAQ on the GW website. It says ignore the entry in the Codex and use the USR in the rulebook for counter-attack. So that means yes, with Space Wolves, you roll that leadership test and if you pass, you get your charge bonus. That means for Blood Claws they get the +2 attack when charged. Basically, its not too bad of an option to let your wolves get charged.
Also note the piece of wargear giving +1 attack to a model that counter-attacks (it slips my mind right now what it's called). That would also apply. So a character with that piece of wargear, if he passed his counter-attaack roll, would get +1 for "charging" and +1 for the wargear. Pretty powerful.
According to the Space Wolves FAQ you use the normal SM Codex Drop Pod rules with armies built using the Space Wolves Codex (so you get your Drop Pod Assault) and the list of units in the Space Wolves Codex when deciding what to put in them. Counter-Attack likewise uses the updated rules; I'm not sure how many attacks the Blood Claws would get though, because the rule specifically says they only get +1.
---------- Post added at 11:45 ---------- Previous post was at 11:43 ----------
blood claws get +2 attacks on the counterattack. i have never heard of anyone who interpreted it otherwise
Thank you all for your responses, I am very happy with the answer I got