Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
One thing came up today when 4 warriors charged into a chimera. They have a bioplasma attack, so that goes first. The attacks immobolised the chimera and their normal attacks hits automatically.
Do you strike by initiative? Like i4 attacks immobolised the vehicle and then i1 powerfists hit automatic???
"Hard pounding, gentlemen: but we shall see who can pound the longest."
Arthur Wellesley, Duke of Wellington
It doesn't say it had to have been immobilized the previous turn, especially since it uses "is" in the present tense instead of "was" in the past tense with it being stationary.
So I honestly have no idea how I'd call this.
Red nailed it.
Regardless of any damage inflicted during your opponent's turn, if you moved at...
Stationary, opponents will hit automatically
Combat Speed, opponents will hit on 4+
Cruising Speed (or greater), opponents will hit on '6's
If your vehicle was immobilized due to an opponent's attacks, it will prevent you from moving during your next turn, and thus allow opponent's to hit automatically (in close combat) for the remainder of the game. But for the turn in which he immobilized it, you still use the distance you moved during your last turn to determine what it is hit on.
I've recently become a fan of this thing called Dubstep. And you should too.
Datsik & Flux Pavillion - Crunch (Youtube)
Da Moo Kowz is da drinkinest Orks of dem all!
Yes, but it uses "previous turn" in regards to movement, while clearly uses the present tense "is" for immobilized, which means is currently immobilized, not was immobilized in a previous turn.
The only time Initiative ever matters in an assault is if the vehicle has a WS.
Plus, you can't declare a vehicle is 'immobilised' until after all the assault results are resolved anyway, so there really isn't a problem.
"is immobilized in a previous turn" isn't grammatically correct, if that was the case it would use "was". Just like how "was stationary in its previous turn" uses "was"
And why exactly would vehicles not resolve damage by initiative? In normal close combat, wounds are resolved by initiative, and it doesn't state vehicles do it any different.
*reaches for the rule book*
the actual wording is: Attacking a vehicle that is immobilised or was stationary in its previous turn - Automatic hit
So the real question is, does the vehicle count as 'immobilised' immediately after a high-initiative attack, or does it become immobilised after the combat is resolved?
As a nid player, the outcome of this will seriously affect my strategy when using Carnifexes with an Initiative of 1...(guaranteed MC hits FTW )
After reviewing the rules, I see nothing in the section for vehicles in assaults that stops the normal Initiative order for resolving attacks. Also it's fairly clear that if a vehicle is Immobile when your attacks go off, it hits automatically regardless of the point that it was immobilised. With all of that in mind, a higher I strike that immobilises a vehicle would certainly seem to make it easier for lower I strikes to land a hit.
If you can find any exceptions to the Initiative order or anything that states it must be immobilised at the start of combat, then by all means, otherwise the wording and sequence of the rules is clear.If it had to be immobile in a previous turn, why not just state "Attacking a vehicle that was immobilised or stationary in a previous turn"? It's clear grammatically that the two are completely seperate as they would be out of tense otherwise.Attacking a vehicle that is immobilised or was stationary in a previous turn.
Blais's Paint Studio-Getting broken armies good soft scores since 2009