Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I was wondering if I'd be able to field a tech priest or a priest as the mandatory HQ choice for my army. Before you simply answer "no" allow me to explain my reasoning.
The Imperial Guard codex says, "An Imperial Guard army may include 0-5 Ministorum Priests. Priests do not use up any Force Organisation chart selections, but are otherwise treated as seperate HQ units." IG dex p. 93
It says the same for Techpriest Enginseers. Now in the Black Templars codex it states, "...The Emperors Champoin does NOT use up an HQ slot on a Force Organisation chart, so you may still pick your 2 HQ choices as normal." BT dex p. 31
Now in the Black Templars FAQ the second question and answer state,"Q.Can I field the Emperor’s Champion as my
one compulsory HQ choice and no other HQs in
the army?A.Yes, even though he does not use up an HQ
slot, he is still an HQ choice, and so he can fulfill the minimum HQ requirement."
So would you be able to use Priests or Tech-priests as your mandatory HQ choice?
IG Best Gen 1st overall of 10 DE 4th overall of 6
Eldar 3rd Overall/Best General of 26--2nd Overall/Best General of 7--1st Overall/Best General of 11
considering what it says with the BT i would say yes. However there is the consideration its an out dated codex so if could find something simular in another codex with an FAQ saying the same then ypu got back up. It's really a w8 for guard FAQ question but if it where up to me i would say yes.
According to the Mini Rule Book:
"Force Organisation Chart
The minimum and maximum numbers of each of these types of unit for each army are detailed on the force organisation chart for each army Codex book... ... As you can see, normally you will have to take at least one HQ selection and two Troops selections." (Mini Rule Book, page 87)
And according to the Codex Imperial Guard:
...Priests do not use up any Force Organisation chart selections, but are otherwise treated as separate HQ units." (Codex Imperial Guard, page 93)
The compusory choices for an army list include one HQ selection and two Troops selections. Ministorum Priests do not use up any Force Organisation chart selections.
The mention of being treated as separate HQ units, is only to indicate that each Priest is a separate unit, and thus separate kill point. The same holds true for Tech Priests.
Using another Codex's special rules to justify how you want your Codex to work is like saying... It's legal to smoke pot in Amsterdam, so I should be allowed to smoke it in Kansas.
Conclusion: The answer is no.
but hes not using another codexs specal rules or anything, just making the comprison with another codex to a unit that says the same in its profile.
EDIT: The reason the BT Codex allows you to use the Emperor's Champion as your compulsory HQ choice even though he uses up no Force Org chart requirements is because he's a mandatory addition to Black Templars' army lists of 750pts or more, he's a Champion (as opposed to some Rosarius-wearing preacher-man), he's expensive, and the core character of the army is built around him.
You've never been able to use Priests (or Commissars in old editions) as your compulsory HQ selections because they don't use a Force Org slot and thus don't fill the Force Org chart requirements and since their rules are largely unchanged you can't use them now.
Last edited by Frank Fugger; May 10th, 2009 at 16:53.
Forget the codex: Black Templar FAQ. Think of it this way. It says you will have to take one HQ and two troop choices. OK. It says that priests / techpriests do not use up any force organization chart selections. OK. Where does it say that they don't count as a compulsory choice? Not taking up a slot isn't the same thing as not being a choice. It explicitly says that it is an HQ unit. Requirements are one HQ unit and two troops. Seems pretty cut and dry to me.
Compulsory is one HQ selection. If the wording was one HQ unit then you'd be correct. But unit is a keyword, and thus used with caution.
The two varieties of Priests do not fulfill an HQ selection, and thus do not meet compulsory Force Organisation chart requirements.
Wild tangent: Isn't "organisation" supposed to be spelled "organization" ?
However, I think I actually agree with BossGorestompa due to the specific wording he quoted. (I really wish games workshop would stop doing this. They used to explicitly say when something didn't count as a compulsory unit.) In this case, it does specifically say that enginseers and priests do not count as an HQ selection, but they count as a unit. Since the main rulebook specifies a 'selection' and the priest / techpriest are explicitly NOT a 'selection', I've been convinced.
I now agree. Techpriests and Ministorium Priests do not fulfill the requirements to be a compulsory HQ choice.