Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Recently I battled a demonhunter army, the game had a 500pnt limit. My opponent fielded:
2 Gray Knight squads- Storm bolters and Nemesis weapons
1 dreadnaught w/MM and Incinerator
He had a 3 man (not sure what) HQ 1 guy had a psycannon and 1 guy allowed him to re-roll misses.
1 of his GK squads wiped out 16 ork boyz and a warboss w/power klaw without taking any loses. In fact he wiped out my entire army without taking any loses. I'm new but I found this a little out of balance.
Any info would help.
Well, first off, his HQ choice is illegal. The minimum size for an HQ retinue is 3 Terminators (this is not including the actual HQ choice himself). Furthermore, without a retinue for his HQ and taking the cheapest option, his list weighed in at 500pts. Oh, and there's no grey knight model that rerolls misses (aside from Stern, but I don't imagine he used him, that would be blatantly ignoring the rules. ). So basically from the sounds of it he stuck in an additional 2 guys. Now, this is assuming that his HQ was grey knights. If it was not then he used an Inquisitor Lord and the minimum retinue size is still 3 not including the Inquisitor Lord. There IS a henchman that allows the rerolling of ONE to hit roll per turn for the Inquisitor Lord and his retinue, however none of the henchmen have the option of taking a psycannon (unless he took it on his inquisitor).
IN summary, his list is completely legal except for his HQ choice, which can never exist. Ever.
I'll be careful with this player in the future.
Dreadnaught in such small games would be quite deadly I imagine;
Otherwise good luck with your next attempts;
Good idea. Also, if he tries to field an HQ choice of 2 or 3 models, make him show you the army list entry in his codex that allows him to do that. Watch him squirm
Also remember a DH dred can normally only be taken in a Grey Knight force if there is a Brother Captain in the force (He would be a cool looking terminator guy)... so i would guess his force was dodgy... or he may be a new player that just missed this...
Aside from his (lack of) HQ issues the points are about right if he had 5 guys a squad and no upgrades (not uncommon for GK).
Have him check his book as in the future he should be fielding a brother captain rather than the inq elite to qualify for the dread, it'll just fit within the 500 point limit.
Both Daemonhunters' HQ retinues need to be at least 4 models; if the HQ bloke with the psycannon was an Inquisitor Lord he needs 2 of the other blokes to allow him to reroll a single shooting miss per phase. All one does is increase his Inquisitor's BS by 1.He had a 3 man (not sure what) HQ 1 guy had a psycannon and 1 guy allowed him to re-roll misses.
If he had the aforementioned cool-looking Grey Knight Terminator guy he shouldn't be rerolling anything; Grey Knight Terminator guys don't get that ability from anything in our Codex to the best of my knowledge.Yeah; unfortunately that's just how awesome Grey Knights are1 of his GK squads wiped out 16 ork boyz and a warboss w/power klaw without taking any loses. In fact he wiped out my entire army without taking any loses. I'm new but I found this a little out of balance.
Even still, it sounds like your opponent was a bit of a cheating bugger. His HQ was illegal, and even assuming you're okay with that his list is still at least 10pts over the 500pt limit.
Yep, agreed that this list was a bit dodgy.
A Grey Knight Hero is needed to take a Dread and these can either be alone or in a retinue min squad size of 4. Most likely he to an =][= lord but was still one henchman short and over shot the points limint by around 30pts.
Just let him know that GK armys at 500pts just tend to be:
Brother Captain - 61
Justicar, 4x PAGK - 150
Justicar, 4x PAGK - 150
Grey Knight Dreadnought, TLLC, EA, SL - 138
Total - 499
At least thats what I'd run.
Last edited by Pheonix Lord; May 11th, 2009 at 15:02.
I hear and I forget, I see and I remember, I do and I understand
Success is the ability to go from failure to failure without losing your enthusiasm.