Is this seriously a legal combination? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    Hominus Nocturnum jmeis982's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dubuque, IA
    Age
    34
    Posts
    529
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    44 (x2)

    Is this seriously a legal combination?

    I'm just getting back into 40k and have settled on Witch hunters, I love the flavor. I'm going to run them with "allied" space marines, Can I still use a set of Daemonhunters Allies?

    My main thought is running two Inquisitor HQ's.

    The Camden Brigade
    Do good things, good things happen. Do bad things, and kharma hits you with a car.
    20 Bucks. Eat it; Ride it; Hump it. I don't care. - Earl J. Hickey

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member R3con's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    169
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    17 (x1)

    Short answer yes...

    Long answer you have to run SM with allied sisters and a allied DH Inq Lord for it to be legal...as Sisters cannot induct SM but SM can induct sisters..

    Both Sm and sisters can induct all the DH they want to...
    For Michigan Apoc news and meetups.. www.mi40k.com

  4. #3
    Hominus Nocturnum jmeis982's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dubuque, IA
    Age
    34
    Posts
    529
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    44 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by R3con View Post
    Short answer yes...

    Long answer you have to run SM with allied sisters and a allied DH Inq Lord for it to be legal...as Sisters cannot induct SM but SM can induct sisters..

    Both Sm and sisters can induct all the DH they want to...
    I'm not planning to run Sisters at all.

    Here's the rough composition i'm looking for:

    WH Inquisitor Lord
    DH Inquisitor Lord
    1 Priest
    2x IST's
    1x Space Marine Scouts
    1x Space Marine Tactical
    3 Death Cult Assassins
    1 Vindicare
    3 Penitent Engines
    1 Flagellants
    1 Exorcist
    The Camden Brigade
    Do good things, good things happen. Do bad things, and kharma hits you with a car.
    20 Bucks. Eat it; Ride it; Hump it. I don't care. - Earl J. Hickey

  5. #4
    LO Zealot gauss_storm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,552
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    103 (x5)

    You need to have Sisters of Battle units too include exorcists which you can't with the space marines.


  6. #5
    Hominus Nocturnum jmeis982's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dubuque, IA
    Age
    34
    Posts
    529
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    44 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by gauss_storm View Post
    You need to have Sisters of Battle units too include exorcists which you can't with the space marines.
    Is this an errata? Not to nit pick RAW, but there is no implication that the Exorcist requires you to have SoB's, the Immolator has a specific entry that says such.
    The Camden Brigade
    Do good things, good things happen. Do bad things, and kharma hits you with a car.
    20 Bucks. Eat it; Ride it; Hump it. I don't care. - Earl J. Hickey

  7. #6
    Member Gullwing Yunie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Woodridge
    Age
    7
    Posts
    136
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    12 (x1)

    it's not a requirement but the exorcist is a sister battle tank/chapel and it's just not right to include it without them

    since you don't want gk take the daemonhunters as the base and include the witcheys as allies then you can take raiders or such without messing with fluff oh and those totaly sweet daemonhosts
    Believe in me, even if we are torn apart our feelings will unite us that is what this post is all about.

  8. #7
    3 Getrudes Frank Fugger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Liverpool
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,710
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    235 (x6)

    Quote Originally Posted by jmeis982 View Post
    WH Inquisitor Lord
    DH Inquisitor Lord
    1 Priest
    2x IST's
    1x Space Marine Scouts
    1x Space Marine Tactical
    3 Death Cult Assassins
    1 Vindicare
    3 Penitent Engines
    1 Flagellants
    1 Exorcist
    Very legal indeed, sir.

    If you're not supremely attached to the DCAs, and can find another 130pts from somewhere, I'd recommend Daemonhosts due to the fact they're an absolute riot to play.

    Quote Originally Posted by gauss_storm View Post
    You need to have Sisters of Battle units too include exorcists which you can't with the space marines.
    No you don't; you're thinking of Heavy Support-slot Immolators.

    Quote Originally Posted by Gullwing Yunie View Post
    it's not a requirement but the exorcist is a sister battle tank/chapel and it's just not right to include it without them
    Meh. Fluff-wise it'd be a bit icky, but there's no rule in the Codex that specifically bars you from doing it and thus it's all good.

  9. #8
    The Future realitycheque's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Bedford, UK
    Age
    37
    Posts
    4,848
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    403 (x8)

    I'm pretty sure that SMs can only induct HQ, Troop and Fast Attack choices from the Inquisition lists, so you can't take Exorcists either way.
    My Deathwatch Campaign
    Furious Angels: (SM) W22, D1, L9 (BA) W15, D0, L3 | Sentinels of Saphery (HE) W3, D0, L0

  10. #9
    Junior Member A.T.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    England
    Posts
    3,390
    Mentioned
    23 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    430 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Gullwing Yunie View Post
    since you don't want gk take the daemonhunters as the base and include the witcheys as allies then you can take raiders or such without messing with fluff oh and those totaly sweet daemonhosts
    Has to be a WH base army, 2 WH HQ choices (inq lord and priest) - priest being required for the arcos and the penitents.

    Land Raiders could be taken for the lords.



    Daemonhosts - tried a pair of them once. One bounced doing very little damage (no power weapons), while the other wandered forwards boiling his own blood and freaking out his own side.
    They did confuse my opponent greatly though.

  11. #10
    Member Gullwing Yunie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Woodridge
    Age
    7
    Posts
    136
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    12 (x1)

    i believe he wishes to use wh as the base with dh as allies and fill it with inducted marines

    srry post was delayed this meant for reality

    uhh i could be confusing this with guard priests but last time i checked priests didna use up a hq slot on the foc so ally away

    oh and do try the hosts again they are alot of fun to play with and against but as you've found out are about as reliable as a grot fireing a plasma gun with no cooling valve
    Last edited by Gullwing Yunie; May 14th, 2009 at 13:44.
    Believe in me, even if we are torn apart our feelings will unite us that is what this post is all about.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts