Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Here's the hypothetical situation.
A command squad bunkers down in their Chimera.
They have a heavy weapon (let's say it's a missile launcher).
Can they shoot the heavy weapon from inside the Chimera? If so, would it count as open topped?
Argument for: Codex p. 39: five models can fire from the hatch.
Argument against: Codex p. 39: "In reality" they are firing from the fixed lasgun emplacements.
In the fourth edition codex, the heavy weapon could explicitly fire, but the Chimera would then be open-topped for the next turn. As far as I know, there is no such rule in the fifth edition codex, and there is nothing about it in the main rulebook.
Can the heavy weapon fire from the hatch, and if so, what are the consequences for the Chimera?
They can fire from the missile launcher from the hatch provided the vehicle does not move. They can fire any other weapons if the vehicle moves up to 6".
Distance/LOS is measured from the hatch.
Hatches for vehicles removed the "now opened topped" caveat, but it still holds for occupiable buildings.
Here is another thing to think about: Heavy Weapons teams not count as a single model for firing so an entire HWS of can fire out of a chimera.
Where the heck did all them guardsmen come from?
Great Wolf! Is that the howl of the 13th?
I'm glad that I'm not the only one who sees the Chimeras as a command bunker/heavy weapon emplacement.
One more question: Would the Master of Ordnance be able to "see" from the Chimera, for the purposes of reducing scatter? I would argue he would, but I'm a bit biased because I would stand to benefit.
If so, then a Chimera for the Company Command Squad is a must.
"A Heavy weapons team counts as two models for the purpose of transport capacity but is otherwise treated as a single model" IG p29
"Five models can fire from the Chimera's top hatch." IG p39
---------- Post added at 15:21 ---------- Previous post was at 15:19 ----------
You can fire five weapons from the hatch.
e.g. a five man command squad could fire a laspistol and 4 lasguns.
A heavy weapons squad (3 teams) joined by 2 independant characters could fire three heavy weapons and the two independant character's weapons
a vet squad could fire three plasma guns, the sgnts plasma pistol and the squad's heavy weapon (autocannon?)
If a vehicle is shaken or stunned it can't fire and confers these problems to the occupants (whilst inside)
i'm waiting for the argument r.e what is the hatch - someone's going to say it's the cupola soon.
Adeptus Mechanicus Marines: http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...ml#post1655065
I was playing a friendly game recently, and my friend had a big problem with this. He argued that because of the "in reality" bit the fire points should only apply to lasguns or something, and while it benefits me as the guard player the entire situation does seem pretty cheesy, especially considering that it no longer counts as open topped if they fire from inside.
As a counterargument, I could always model my chimeras with plamsa guns on the outside and put a normal squad inside and ask the same question
How do you guys mentally rationalize the rules for these situations?
The fire points entry says "...several are firing from the fixed lasgun emplacements..." The rules don't say you can only fire las guns, so you can fire anything that could normally be fired from a fire point.
I see the line about the fixed lasgun emplacements as them saying "ya we know they used to only shoot lasguns"
The Tyranid torpedo? Its a giant facehuger cannon. It fires an army of facehugers at the other ships. It should cause fear.