Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
What is the point of a blast weapon that ignore cover?? The way I read it, the blast template will over give a cover save from the center hole. If the hole happen to scatter just shy of a wall.
Just seems a little odd.
i'm not sure on this one, let the bigger guys take care of this
You are thinking of indirect fire, I think--when landing an ordnance barrage template, one measure LOS for cover from the center of impact. Most blast weapons, however, follow normal LOS rules for cover. Also, if most of the target unit is in area terrain then they get a cover save regardless of LOS. On top of that, some units can get cover saves via special rules...smoke launchers, skimmers moving fast, turboboosting bikes and so on.
"My tanks have names, my men have numbers." -Col. Edmund Grahvess, 23rd Kronecker Prison Guard
Yep, Intrepid pretty much covered it.
IG Best Gen 1st overall of 10 DE 4th overall of 6
Eldar 3rd Overall/Best General of 26--2nd Overall/Best General of 7--1st Overall/Best General of 11
I dont have my rulebook on me, but i think in the blast rule it says it works the same as ord. blast.
I dont see how a small explosion would work differently then a big explosion. Because it really just blows up when it gets to the target if im not mistake. Its not a blast all the way to the target, so why would an inverning model or cover, give a cover save. It would explode around the blast template...
This doesnt seem very consistant.
Any ord. blast is a shell being shot out of something direct or indirect, and exploding on impact. Leaving me to believe that is what is happening with all template, blast, and ord blast weapon. Meaning you wouldnt get a cover save unless the shell actually exploded outside of a wall coverring models inside the wall....
---------- Post added at 03:13 ---------- Previous post was at 03:12 ----------
Again what is the point of any blast, heavy blast template giving an ignore cover rule, when it basically does this anyways.
When it comes to the rules as written, sometimes (actually a lot of times), you just have to ignore logic. Otherwise, none of the rules would work as many people have different types of logic and/or intepretations (i.e. my logic may sound illogical to you, and vice versa).
Anyways my logic is (or at least the way I see how they intepret it as) blast weapons have a center of impact. Then the explosion and shrapnel radiates outwards from it in linear fashion (or something like that). Thus if you were behind something, you will receive some type of cover from it. However, weapons with blasts that ignore cover (like flamer temp weapons) will permeate and fill up any empty space within its range. Thus it would go around corners and cover to affect everthing in its path.
For Cover related issues Standard Blast weapons still consider the direction of the firer. Main rules for Blasts found on pg 30. As there is no exception listed for denying cover, from a "blast" weapon, the standard cover save would apply.
For Barrage weapons, have the additional rule to determine cover saves. pg32 first bullet point.
The TFCs Airburst Shells, which deny cover are usefull for tearing up a weak units like termagaunts, or standard IG infantry, from a ruin, trench, crater denying a standard cover save, and forcing them to rely on their natural save which is much worse.
Last edited by Xpyre35; May 15th, 2009 at 04:59.
Right but doesnt it say under blast rules are the same as Heavy blast? If im not mistaken, i will have my rulebook tommorrow so i can quote it. I think its refering to the rules on page 32...
I guess the real problem is there is no exception rule, and there is no rule saying they allow cover saves....
But i guess you can say with the exception rule, which is what i missed, it would allow the opposite effect.