Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I've seen mention of using griffons paired with other arty pieces in order to improve accuracy regarding scatter. Can someone explain how this works? Or give a page # from the codex or brb so I can wrap my head around the rules? Can't seem to find anything currently.
Also, does this work with the master of ordinance and a mortar team in the same command squad?
1) Master Of Ordnance and Mortar Team does NOT confer the ability to place the ordnance template so that it touches the mortar template. This has been debated in great detail in one of the posts earlier and the argument convincingly states that this is so.
2) Read the Rulebook - esp. the page regarding multiple barrages. Artillery squadrons firing count as barrage.
3) Please try to read your rules thoroughly b4 you make a post. What you have asked should be common knowledge to all 40k players.
Psh. Well forget you guys. I'm still waiting for an official errata.
And wait how long?
Besides, MoC and Mortar is too powergamey and cheeselike to be legal IMHO.
phr0z3n - Remember this golden rule: Respect Everyone's Posts
Well not to be rude but you did not pay much respect the original post made by narcoclepticltd did you. You did not even take the time to answer his main question which was related to the griffons helping with accuracy. All you did was jump on him about the MOO and Mortar aspect. Which lets face it, is an open book. Some people think it is legal, others don't, just the way it is, and untill it gets FAQ no one can really say either way.- Im sorry but I am at work and so don't know what page it is, but the rules relating to this are in the main rule book. Basically you can pair the griffon with a collossus for example. The griffon fires with a re-roll to scatter due to its special rule, and then the collossus can place its pie plate touching the shot of the griffon. Anyway read up on it in the main rule book, not the codex.I've seen mention of using griffons paired with other arty pieces in order to improve accuracy regarding scatter. Can someone explain how this works?
Kelloggs, thanks for the back up, rep for you =)
phr0z3n, #2 did answer my initial query, although your tone is a bit self rightious. I was asking for an explanation -or- a pointer in the right direction from the rulebook.
Just because you believe a particular set of rules is common knowledge doesn't make it fact... not everyone has been playing the game for very long (although some out there started playing before you could walk).
I don't care if it's 'cheese' or 'power gaming' I'm simply trying to get my head around the concept. Again, thank you for pointing out the specific section of the rulebook.
By my reading of the rules, you can do the mortar trick.
a) The mortar is a barrage weapon.
b) The Master of Ordnance shoots a barrage weapon (Artillery Bombardment, on page 31 of Codex: Imperial Guard).
c) They are in the same unit.
d) As per the third to the last paragraph on the left column on page 32 of the main rulebook:
- 1) The unit has more than one barrage weapon, and
- 2) Thus, they are fired in a salvo, using the salvo rules in the next three paragraphs.
Yes, this is a cheap trick. Yes, it abuses the rules a tad bit. Yes, I would do this; I've suffered enough in the last Codex. It's about time the Guard got an exploit.
I would argue it's not that overpowered. It's only a Basilisk shot, and the Command Squad can't do a thing if their Chimera
I was in a bit of a mood this morning when I posted - so sorry.
As Ravendove said - he is absolutely correct - the mortar and MoO trick does not work because of his aforementioned reasons. I hope that this thread doesnt get blown into a storm of debate - you should go and make your own mind up by reading previous debates elsewhere in the IG forums.
after reading through the rules both on multiple barrage and MoO last night, I tend to agree that it's not too kosher. I can see how it can be interpreted as legal, but I noticed the same thing, as MoO's shot isn't a weapon, it's a special rule. It's definately a bit foggy and should be faq'd, but I'd assume gw would rule it out. Until then, I'd definately expect to see this come up in a game.