Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
2 Heavy Weapon Squads
The big abuse here is the new change to the heavy weapon squads - they're now one model.
Firing from a Chimera, with it's 5 fire points (5th ed IG p39: "Five models can fire from the Chimera's top hatch.") two mounted hvy weapon squads could fire 5 heavy weapons from that top hatch, plus the chimera's HB and ML.
Sure the Chimera can't be bought for them, but the hvy weapon squads can mount up in turn one, ready to fire in turn two.
Yes, it's a stretch on the rules, and the 5 fire points include the hull lasguns, but that's some bad wording, and I can see someone trying it.
Consider how many Chimeras and HWS you could put together in one force org...
2 squads in one Chimera? most you'll get in there will be one squad (only one unit can be transported). Now, you can have 2 IC's join that squad and they can fire as well, but if the Chimera moved that turn, none of those heavy weapons can fire.
If someone want's to pay 55 points for a bit of armor around their HWS, and they're still limited to the same firing restrictions when it comes to movement... how is this a problem?
Since it's a dedicated transport, it can't start the game in the Chimera. This means that the IG player sacrifices a whole turn of shooting to do this.
Secondly a Chimera is an expensive bunker for a heavy weapon squad. Sure, it makes it much harder to kill them, but any damage result prevents the squad from firing for that turn. Even in cover with camo netting (3+ cover save), it take up valuable real-estate.
Finally, Heavy Weapon Squads have been seriously nerfed, now that they are three gigantic low toughness models. A mulilaser can wipe the squad clean, and even one 6+ Strength shot can force them off the board, thanks to the low leadership. An autocannon can easily kill them in one round of shooting.
a) you loose a turn of shooting
b) you can't receive orders
c) if transport gets shaken/stunned then the HWS can also not fire
b) Better units to put in chimeras (PCS w/ 4 flamers, Vets w/ meltas, PBS, ect) that can take advantage of the mobility
Hardly can consider this "abuse".
as Has been said it takes most of the punch out of HWS to place them in a Chimera.
Much more powerful is the Assualt power combo.
Callidus assassin (one who gets bonuses from nearby psykers) a 6 or 8 PBS (with Primaris Psyker attached if you don't want a Company Command Squad)
Both can start in the Chimera Both are Assault weapons thus more mobility.
24" Range with Primaris 2D6 6/5
36" Ranger with PBS 6-9/D6
Plus all the bonuses of Callidus attacks.
That my friends is rules abuse.
Fifth Edition Saved 40k for Me. I love my ratlings and my cover saves!
I think it's the Culexus that gets the bonus attacks from Psykers. Either way, that many attacks at such an amazing AP value just screams dead Terminators O_O
Assassins (both Culexus and Callidus) are Independent. You cannot put them with any squad or in any vehicles.
You know, I'm getting worried that pretty soon GW's going to put out an errata stating that only lasguns can fire from a chimera.
The model has fixed lasgun ports, and in the fluff it says "the models are actually firing from the fixed lasgun ports but for simplicity's sake you can measure from anywhere." Knowing GW's history of confusing fluff with rules, it seems pretty clear to me that they didn't think about it very hard and were intending only lasguns to be able to fire from the chimera's sides, just like in the old codex.
So all you people relying on chimera melta spam, don't say I didn't warn you when the dream comes crashing down...
Actually forget it, even if they did intend lasguns only, they're way too lazy to correct it.
Can a Psyker Battle Squad (of more than 5 models) fire from the Chimera?