Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I've just realised - If you put your vehicles in squadrons not only are they one KP, but you allocate the hits (as long as the vehicles are different)
Give them all smoke launchers, and just pop one:
A pair of hellhounds rocks up, moves 12", one fires a inferno cannon or the hull multimelta, the other pops it's smoke launchers.
Joe opponent goes Oh no! I'd best shoot that! his tactical squad with lascannon shoots ... and you allocate the hit to the smoking one.
Then he does squad 2 and ... you allocate it to... the same tank!
Next turn, you alternate the smoking tank.
One kill point only if he kills the entire squadron... It does have it's merits i feel...
the opponent uses the AV of the closest tank's facing - if you move them in "V" formation (positioned like that) they shouldn't be too badly off (aurmoured sentinals especially here) - those nasty side armours are safer. - on chimera chassied hydras / aurmoured sents etc.
Oh just occurred... Your running Armoured sentinals can smoke for two turns if you run them and alternate the smoker...
Last edited by stayscrunchyinmilk; May 21st, 2009 at 20:29.
You always allocate in a vehicle squadron. It doesn't matter if they're different or not.
Also, if you have two and one smokes, the unit is 50% in cover. They both get cover saves anyway
It almost makes up for having to shoot the same target and getting destroyed by immobilized results. Almost.
Check out ==My== blog: www.bnhblog.blogspot.com
Now that squadrons are going to be much more common place, i think there will be more eldar using eldritch storm to spin to ANY armour facing other than the front. Tricky, but something to help offset the balance of alternating smoke.
The same can be done with a pair of LRBT. If at least one is in cover, you can allocate the first damage to the one in cover to get the save.
Works great if you pair a nekkid LRBT with a LR Exec kitted out, give any pens to the LRBT so you keep the LRExec shooting
don't forget the 4" coherency rules.
Fifth Edition Saved 40k for Me. I love my ratlings and my cover saves!
Eh, it sounds like rules abuse (the one-smoke-launcher-at-a-time idea). Besides, I'd rather have the entire squadron fire first than accept half-fire in the hopes of getting half-fire in the following turn.
"My tanks have names, my men have numbers." -Col. Edmund Grahvess, 23rd Kronecker Prison Guard