Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Are they horribly gimped compared to Grey Knight and Black Templar ones? All three codexes state that each Hurricane Bolter counts as three twin-linked boltguns fired as a single weapon, however the GK and BT Codexes allow the Hurricane Bolters to be fired "regardless of how far the vehicle moves or what other weapons it is firing", essentially allowing them to always be fired, independently of PotMS. The Smurf codex makes no mention of such an ability, just that the bolters are fired as a single weapon.
Taken at face value this means that, where GKs or BTs can roll 12" in their Crusaders, fire both Hurricane Bolters AND use PotMS to fire the Assault Cannon or multimelta, the Smurfs can either choose to roll 6" and fire both Hurricane Bolters (since they count as defensive weapons) in addition to PotMSing two other weapons, or roll 12", forego firing the Assault Cannon, and use PotMS to fire a single Hurricane Bolter. That seems wrong to me, unless there's something I'm not seeing.
With all the goodies you have in C: SM like storm shields, there is nothing to complain about not being able to fire after moving 12"
It's not a complaint, it's a question.
you could ask why Smurf drop pods get a higher BS than BT drop pods, the answer is the same - GW wanted it so.
Make it fluffy by saying "differing chapters have different levels of technology yet are overall very similar" or something. =)
Well yeah, you could do that if it was actually the case that they can't move 12" and fire the Hurricane Bolters, but I have this nagging feeling I'm missing something in the RAW that allows them to do it. If the Smurf variants can't then it seriously gimps their firepower; the BTs can move their Crusaders 12" and still fire 4 twin-linked Assault Cannon shots and 12 twin-linked bolter shots as well as disembarking whatever's inside straight into assault, whereas the Smurfs have to choose between the Assault Cannon or one of the two Hurricane Bolters.
EDIT: I'm not moaning, and nor am I asking why this should be the case or what sense it makes. All I want to do is make sure I haven't missed anything; if it is indeed the case that the Smurfy Crusaders have to use their PotMS to fire a single Hurricane Bolter after having moved 12", so be it. If not I'd like to know what it is I've missed in the rules.
Last edited by Frank Fugger; May 26th, 2009 at 16:50.
It doesn't appear you've missed anything, that I can find. A Vanilla Crusader, moving at cruising speed, can fire a single weapon via PotMS.
I think you said it correctly, but to re-itterate. A Vanilla Crusader moving at only combat speed, could fire upto 4 weapons. The defensives (Hurricane Bolters), a Main weapon(Twin Assault Cannons), and a PotMS weapon (M.Melta) at possibly a different target.
Typical use I see is, full movement turn 1, smoke. Turn 2, combat speed, deliver payload, Unload all weapons, Termies mop up.
Sorry to say, but the Black Templar's PoTMS suck. They're not even in the same league as the smurf's or Daemonhunters. They fire at BS2 and cannot fire if the LR moves more than 6".
And while SM LRC's may not be able to fire their hurricane bolters all the time, they do have better assault cannons than the DH's.
Forgive my ignorance, but I don't see where in the BT codex that says their LRC's can always fire its hurricane bolters.
Last edited by jy2; May 27th, 2009 at 07:53.
So yeah, it looks like it's just the Grey Knights that can do all the fun stuff with the Hurricane Bolters. Codex creep is awesome