Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Quick question about Marbo's deployment in Dawn of War. I was playing a game last night and my opponent said that all units must walk on from my board edge as per the rule book. Of course Marbo's special rule says he can deploy anywhere more than 1" from an enemy. So which should it be?
Incidentally, Marbo (freshly painted) spent the battle running to the battle and didn't actually accomplish anything (but he looked good doing it).
I would say that he would be able to use his infiltrate rule, because he can do it regardless of whether it is allowed.
However, i could be mistaken.
Codex trumps rulebook. Your friend was wrong. Anything arriving in an "unusual" way from reserves can still come on as normal. Deep strike, marbo, outflank, its all still allowed from reserve.
http://www.armyroster.com Check out my ToP WIP in the projects section!
Agreed. I think the dawn of war rule is that everything else that is not in reserve enters on turn one.
Quorn! - Protein for the Protein God.
You would roll for marbo turn 2 and so on. Then he would pop up and say hi and throw a demo charge for giggles and laugh as he remembers sylvester stallone trying to impersonate him.
40k Ultramarines W-44 D-12 L-14 (This record is a combined from ArdBoyz and RogueTraderTourneys)
Warhammer Choas DaemonsW-4 D-0 L-2
As was stated, in DOW everything that is *not in reserve* comes on the board on turn 1.
However, just like in all of the missions, you can choose to hold any unit in reserve. In which case they would arrive by either walking onto the board, outflanking or deepstriking.
Yeap as been said here Marbo's special rule trumps the codex.
Moreover, he is not the only figure that does this as also been said here.
Deep Striking units, Out flank units etc any rule that modifies deployment still exists in DOW.
Fifth Edition Saved 40k for Me. I love my ratlings and my cover saves!