Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Alright, since the new guard codex has come out everyone has been coming up with all kinds of ways to use Valkeries and Vendettas. This includes outflanking the flyers with units embarked on them. Vets, storm troopers, grey knights, even grey knight terminators (which does not sit well with me personally, but that's another discussion for another thread).
My question, is where are the rules that allow you to outflank a valkerie with a squad embarked? As I recall, the only way a squad can begin the game embarked in a transport is if the vehicle is a dedicated transport assigned to that squad. As valkeries are not taken as dedicated transports, how can you start deployed in one? Did I miss something? If so, page numbers or specific references would be preferred.
Read the Reserves mission rule at the back of the book (p90-92ish). Any unit can start the game in reserve embarked in a non-dedicated transport if you declare it at deployment time. As far as the ability to outflank it; it's a unit, it has the scout USR, it's in reserve, it's not joined by an IC who doesn't have the rule. Those are all the RAW requirements for a unit to be allowed to outflank. It meets all the requirements, it can do it. "Unless it's a transport that has people embarked who can't outflank" isn't written anywhere, as much as a lot of people seem to want it to be.
Last edited by InquisitorAffe; May 30th, 2009 at 19:33.
Look at this way, a Drop Pod has the Deep Strike rules, but almost none of the transportable units have it. If you peruse the rules you'll find nowhere in its' description does the Drop Pod confer DS to a transported unit or have any exception stating that it can still DS with units inside that cannot. A careful reading of the reserve and DS (and outflank rules) will also tell you that being a dedicated transport makes no difference in this respect (with the exception that a unit with "Scouts" confers this ability to their transport, but that is neither here not there).
Simply put, if you can't outflank with a unit in a Valk/Vendy, then Marines can also not DS in Drop Pods. I'm sure this will sit well with all those marine players
Blais's Paint Studio-Getting broken armies good soft scores since 2009
Ah, so I was applying the "you can only begin the game deployed in a dedicated transport" rule to reserves, when that is not the case. Thank you for clearing things up.