Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Take your Holy IG Codex, turn to page 39, and read the section under Fire Points.
This ain't your daddy's Chimera.
Those little flashlights sticking out the side don't mean a hill of beans anymore. Now you can have five models shooting from the top hatch. That means you now have a full field of fire with any of you squad's weapons.
Let's think about this for a couple of minutes. If you take a vet squad, give them three plasma rifles, and stuff them in your standard multi-laser/heavy-bolter Chimera, you've got yourself some drive-by fun for, well, I can't list the points but it's relatively cheap.
In smaller games you would own the board with an army of these puppies since most players don't bring significant anti-armor units until 1500 points.
If you keep them still, you will have three S7, three S6, three S5 and two S3 shots at anything within 24". You get that fire-power for the price of a Space Marine squad but hidden within armor.
Just don't forget the golden rule of mechanized armies: don't get out of the vehicle!
Berks Warhammer 40K: The Top Hatch
I believe we've been over this already.
It would be good times indeed if I could put a Space Marine devastator squad w/4 lascannons or plasma cannons inside a chimera, but for now I'm gonna have to make do with a Grey Knight Purgation squad w/4 psycannons.
quick question, can you fire heavy weapons out of a vehicle? If you can't, can you fire sniper rifles out of a vehicle.
Also can you rapid fire out of a vehicle and can units inside a vehicle receive orders?
The unit inside the vehicle cannot receive orders (see pg 29). However, if an officer is embarked within a Chimera he may still issue orders to squads (see pg 39).
So yes, you can have a Chimera with a missile launcher, but he can't shoot if he moves and he can't receive orders. So you can have a heavy weapon squad hidden in a Chimera since each heavy weapon team is considered one model with two wounds. Great way to make sure they stay nice and safe on a terrain-lacking battlefield.
Ooooh how I love this codex!
Since this is a thread of Chimeras anyways (sorry if this is slightly off-topic), but I have a rule question; namely, can a command/platoon command issue an order to themselves inside of a Chimera? According to the codex they can only issue orders OUT of a Chim, but it doesn't make much sense if they can't give themselves orders if they're all hanging out inside the Chim, now does it? That just seems foolish/against common sense.
Hehehe I love this codex, im on my way to building a mech force (3 chims so far, got a Valkyrie on the way). Those Melta Guns are gonna do quite well inside one of these
Looks like a question that needs to be clarified in a FAQ. Wait two years for the answer.
In the meantime, I don't think you would have any problems issuing orders to yourself within the Chimera unless you are playing, and winning, against another guard player that wants to really rules-lawyer you into turning the tide.
Wait a sec, dont Chimeras have to be taken as dedicated transports?
So you CANT stick a purgation squad in there?
A) Command squads can issue orders from inside or outside of Chimeras.
Only units on foot within the command squad's radius can receive orders.
So a command squad cannot issue itself orders while inside a Chimera. Heck, a command squad can issue anyone an 'order', but obviously the cramped confines of a Chimera make it impossible to take advantage of any intelligent words :p
Seriously tho, rules state only units 'on foot' can receive orders, so a command squad in a Chimera can only dish out but not take any orders- even from itself.