Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Can someone please clarify as to whether a Grand Master with a NFW causes instant death on a model with the Eternal Warrior USR?
The NFW's victims are "slain outright"; Instant Death doesn't come into it, and as such Eternal Warrior doesn't protect a model unless the GM fails his psychic test. All force weapons from the Daemonhunters and Witch Hunters Codexes work the same way, not just the GM's one.
Frank is correct. Models are "slain outright", because all of their wounds are "removed". This is kind of a weedy end run around what has been standard behavior for quite some time. It is liable to catch opponents unawares, so be wary. It can really piss people off. And normally I would be one to advocate playing by the common convenction, RAW be damned ...
... except that so much is now broken in the DH codex that I think we deserve every little advantage we can get. There's plenty that's ugly that hurts us, we need these little perqs just to stay competitive sometimes.
ninjabackhand: point and click, again, really? even after i give you an military term "shock tactic" you still call it point and click.
RIP Warhammer 40,000: 21 Sep 1998 - 24 May 2014
That certainly clears that up then. I have an upcoming game against a Chaos player who (not surprisingly) is fielding Abaddon. Should be interesting when i confront him on the battlefield with my Grand Master and his termie retinue!!!
Just make sure you give your GKGM Sacred Incense so that he and Abaddon will attack at the same time. Otherwise, he is dead meat.
The GKGM does have 1 advantage though, and that is his retinue. Were Abaddon to hit your GM, you could allocate his hits to your retinue. Were your GM to hit Abaddon, he can't.
Oh, and make sure you go over with him about your GM's NFW before the game starts. Otherwise, if you tell him that in the middle of the game when you are both in CC, there'll probably be an argument.
Thanks for the advice. I hadnt thought of that. For the 10 points its certainly worth it.
Having said that, Abaddon must be classed as a Chaos Lord so as per the 'daemons terminology' on page 20 of the codex, if Abaddon charges me, (due to the Rites Of Exorcism special rule) he would have to make a difficult ground test which would reduce his Iniative to 1?
Am i thinking right here?
The full RAW is "Chaos Lords with the Daemonic Stature gift and/ or over 50pts of daemonic gifts". Since none of those things exist anymore you're stuck
So pretty much only the Grand Masters NFW is the only one that slays foes outright, not the standard GK and Terminators.
Yep only the GM. Only other weapon I can think of that does the same thing is the Dire Avengers Dire sword.
I hear and I forget, I see and I remember, I do and I understand
Success is the ability to go from failure to failure without losing your enthusiasm.