Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If a mystic, or a model with an auspex is mounted, are they still able to detect infiltrators / deep strikers?
I do believe this info is found in our 5th ed. FAQ article on GW website. It has been a while since I looked at it, but I am pretty confident it is found there.
I hope this helps.
excellent thank you!
Adding a question to this.
Can the Inq Lord with Mystics nominate the Land Raider they are riding in to shoot said Demon or Deep Striking unit?
And... say 4 enemy units Deep Strike... and they are within range... can I shoot them all?
Yes. You do have to roll the distance check once for each deep-striking unit, but if all your range rolls come up positive, you're good to go. You can even nominate the same unit of your own to shoot at all of the incoming deep striking units.Originally Posted by Vlorlich
ninjabackhand: point and click, again, really? even after i give you an military term "shock tactic" you still call it point and click.
RIP Warhammer 40,000: 21 Sep 1998 - 24 May 2014
Lets look at the second one first... In the codex entry, it says quote "if ... a deep striking unit enters play within 4D6 inches of an inquisitor with a mystic (roll when EACH unit enters play)..." So from that I would think it is very fair to assume that for EACH deep striking unit, in your example, each of the 4 deep striking units enter play, before they are set up, roll the 4D6 and measure distance to them. Then shoot. Then the next unit enters play, roll the 4D6, if within range, shoot. And so on and so forth.
Now to tackle your first question...
That one can be interpreted in 2 different ways:
1) the unit has the grey knight LR from the HS slot.
2) the unit has the LR chosen from their retinue categorie as a dedicated transport.
For starters, we select a heavy support land raider and put a separate crew in it. Some could argue that since the land raider is not part of a unit, it does not count as a unit. Others could argue that the land raider itself counts as a unit. In general, both are technically right and wrong for various reasons. Though I am inclined to feel it is perfectly fine to have the land raider fire the shots in this scenario, though, others who would feel it doesn't qualify as a unit in its own right would disagree with me obviously..
next, we have the dedicated transport LR. This is infact part of the units retinue. Thus it is part of the unit, and even thought it is part of the same unit, it counts as a different unit for purposes of shooting more or less. Thus you could shoot the land raider without a doubt in this scenario....
Either way, I am quite sure you can use the land raider to shoot if you have 2 or more mystics... I guess it just depends on your opponent and how they want to see it which could make your life difficult. It is not really clear in general.... I could be wrong about it not being clear. I mean it is not clear to me.....
But I always played it that you can shoot the tank if you have 2 mystics within range...
Hope this helps...
Thats pretty sweet. My wife is taking a DH Inq with a Land Raider to help support her Sisters. The intent is to help deal with deep striking armies like Marines and Demons as well as provide some help against enemy Pyschics. Not to mention the LR giving some good anti vehicle fire support.
Good stuff! Thanks!
but can the LR pivot? I would assum not. But 1 TLLC isn't going to kill a unit or change the outcome of the game by much.
If its a unit or MC, I would nominate a nearby unit to shoot them but if its a Dread... I would use the TLLCs on the LR to pop it.
Free round of shooting... Does that mean I can Divine Guidence my Sisters and pummel something with some AP1 love?