Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Checked the BRB and Codex and just want to confirm my thoughts.
1: Can a Valkyrie deep striike in a turn and disembark its passengers the same turn?
2: I assume the Hellstrike missiles can be fired at the same time (and all other weapons) if it's not moved. However I assume the all need to be fired at the same target? Is it allowed to be clever and overlap multiple units so long as the primary target is covered by the blast?
Might be wrong on the first one, but as I recall it a deepstriking vehicle simply counts as moving max speed.. This would suggest that a valk could use its grave chute insertion to let them jump out.. There's however no 'line' along which the Valk has moved (as Joey would have said "The line is a dot to you!") thus it would be rather risky to do it as you'd have to let them deepstrike right above the valk, and several models can't occupy the same spot at the same time.. soeh.. 1/3+ chance for them instant dying and when they scatter they roll for dangerous terrain..
As for the second one, Hellstrikes are single shot -not blast- weapons, and they're ordnance, so you can only fire one of them each turn and no other weapons along with it.. If you meant the hellfury missiles or the multiple rocket pods then, as with all other blasts, it's fine to place it over any model in the target unit that's in sight as long as your own units are not under the template.. So yes, if the enemy did place two units close together you could hit them both.. Hellfuries can both be fired in the same turn, keep in mind though that they are singleshot..
Edit: Just reread the deepstrike rules and I guess I was wrong.. Vehicles count as moving at cruising speed only for the purpose of firing their weapons (so a V/V could fire a main weapon (and any defensive weapons) on the turn it lands).
Also it's explicit written that units are allowed to disembark, so units can do so normally from the V/Vs.. I just assumed since SM droppods says they will disembark at once that it wasn't normal to be allowed to do so (I realise now that it's to avoid people staying inside the pods hiding)...
Last edited by LastDinosaur; June 14th, 2009 at 00:08.
So yeah you can drop the valk in, then have your guys jump out of it in the same turn.
The hellstrike missiles are a big rip off. You can fire 1 per turn and if you do you cn't fire any other weapons. It has no blast and uses the normal roll to hit. It is ordance so against armour it rolls 2D6 and you choose the highest result.
-Basically it's an overrated krak/HKM.
IG Best Gen 1st overall of 10 DE 4th overall of 6
Eldar 3rd Overall/Best General of 26--2nd Overall/Best General of 7--1st Overall/Best General of 11