Which Army makes the better mobile force: IG or Orks? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Which Army makes the better mobile force: IG or Orks?

Hello folks,

I've been away from the hobby for a very, very long time. Life has been extremely chaotic. So chaotic in fact, that im taking up the hobby again for the some piece of mind and solace. I'm a good painter and modeler and I enjoy the painting/modeling/fluff aspects to the game.

Anyways, last year I started an Imperial Guard army that was going to be an elite urban warfare division, it was going to be suited for close quarters fighting (flamers/meltas/pistols), which IG rarely is good at, but I felt with enough Chimera's zipping my troops around, it could be done in combination with Light Infantry doctrines and all that.

Anyway, now I'm thinking an entire mechanized division would be great; not so much mechanized with lots of firepower and tanks, but more like .. mechanized infantry. All infantry squads with a few exceptions would be inside a Valkyrie or a Chimera. I'd have 3 Chimeras for an entire platoon - the HQ squad and the two obligatory platoon squads. I'd also have an Armored Fist or Veterans squad tricked for close fighting in a 4th Chimera. There'd be a pair of Sentinels and a Leman Russ Variant.