Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
How is LOS worked out with the valkreye? Do troops near the base give it a cover save? Or is it true LOS and you have to shoot in the air at it???
Troops do not give it a cover save, in fact, nothing gives it a cover save. The Valykrie/Vendetta needs an FAQ to clear up this, embarking/disembarking, and being assaulted because as a skimmer you can conceive it hovering low above the ground.
"The man in the bowler hat is Mr. Average in his anonymity. I, too, wear one; I have no great desire to stand out from the masses." - Rene Magritte
And you cannot simply 'concieve it hovering low to above the ground' - true line of sight, from the base it is supplied with, is all you get. Otherwise, during my opponent's shooting phase, i'm going to imagine that all of my sentinels are crouching behind a wall, and completely hidden from enemy fire, instead of just getting a cover save for being 50% obscured.
Thus: True line of sight, in all cases, taken with the skimmer on the base it is provided with.
It is posible that troops near the base give it a cover save, but ONLY IF they actually block 50% or more of the REAL line of sight from the shooter. And as the skimmer is on that massively tall base, this is unlikely.
Sorry if this isn't what you were hoping for! Cover saves for these things aren't going to happen as often as for, say a chimera. But they are fast!
"Pickles, the drummer, doodily doo. (Ding-dong, doodily, doodily, doo.)"
Also, you should google "garfield minus garfield". Awesome.
Well on the other side of things you can use an extremely tall building or another Valk/Vendetta to give them cover...
Space Marines: W15/L7/D3
Imperial Guard: W6/L4/D0
The player is still saying you dont need to use the flying base to play with it? Which the only thing i found in the rule book about skimmer is that you can only remove the flying base if you are immobile or wrecked. If possible to remove. pg 71.
Thats not what I said. I said you dont have to use the flying stand. The local GW store doesnt even have it glued to a stand at all. They use it strictly as the model is.
You use the base it comes with, just like everything else. If he persists, put a metal dreadnought in a sock and hit him once with it. Keep it within reach during your next game.
Do you believe in the day? Do you? Believe in the day!
So then if you use the base as is, that means all the other skimmers work the same way for true LOS.
So then measuring to shoot at it would be the angle of the shooter to the vehicle? So techincally the vehicle could be 24" away from base to base, but its prolly farther because of the angle of inclination?
I'm fairly sure that in the rulebook it says somewhere that if you can't find a clear solution both you and your opponent agree on in the rulebook then just do what is the most reasonable and acceptable solution till you cann ask a GW staff member or someone else about it, and if you and your opponent differ in opinions over something not clearly covered by the rules to just roll a pair of dice on it
and on the 8th day god made a talking poodle and forgot all about us
The rep button is good
I talked to a GW staff member today. They actually were arguing amongst themselves about it. But basically,
You must place with a base for melee purposes, There is nothing in the rules that states any skimmer is actually flying at the height of the base. The controlling player should specify if the skimmer is at what height or trying to hide behind something. Therefore if that player decides to shoot at something over the tree or through something, that unit being fired upon will get a cover save.
But i still think true LOS works, it just will have to cover at least 50% of the vehicle for it to get a cover save. And doing that with a valkreye would be very difficult. considering the model is very large. One of the biggest on a normal table.
Now here is another question, do skimmers give cover to other unit when they shoot through their own models. Or are they considered firing over the top of them?? But then they would be in the open, or not hull down at all.