Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Yes, it would be fine with me.
Yes, but only if.. (please specify)
No, it would be too "convenient" to forget that those hammers are powerfists
One of my favorite pictures in the codex is the one of the chapter master with his two thunder hammers. However, I've been hesitant to do a conversion until a friend recently suggested a possible solution- make a "count as" calgar model with the two hammers counting as power fists. So my question is this: How would you feel about facing this model on the table. Do you think the possible mind fart (because I WILL forget that those hammers are power fists) would be acceptable?
Use the rules as written. You won't forget, unless you intend to forget and once you tell your opponent he counts as calgar they will remember for you.
Calgar has better rules. Make the model however you want, but make sure everything has a counts as representation.
By that I mean, you need some sort of ranged weapon that looks impressive enough to cut through terminator armor, wound a marine on a 4+ and still allow the user to fire into assault.
I donn't see any reason why you couldn't, i mean if it looks representative enough then that is all that matters... I for one use a counts as cato sicarius model... LONG LIVE CAPT. ERIKAI
Slaanesh, god of the beer goggles
I'd let you use him, the only real problem I have with counts as is when stuff like this water bottle is my land raider and this water bottle is my rhino pops up. But if you're using converted models for counts as special characters you should have no problems at all.
IG Best Gen 1st overall of 10 DE 4th overall of 6
Eldar 3rd Overall/Best General of 26--2nd Overall/Best General of 7--1st Overall/Best General of 11
as long as you dont get all huffy when your opponent reminds you, maybe write yourself a little note?
I don't see any reason why not. If it's converted and represents the wargear in some way then go for it.
"Into the fires of battle, unto the anvil of war!"
-This space for rent-
Salamander project log
I agree, i'd let my opponent use a count-as Calgar if he/she put in the effort to make it representable in the sense of "count-as" ruling. I too would like to make a twin thunder hammer model because in the Codex it looks awesome.
Perhaps putting arm-mounted storm bolters, one on each arm, would be good enough for Calgars termy-killer bolters (cue Grey Knights).
I'd like to see a conversion like this thread suggests. Go for it.
Proud -=< ANZAC CLAN >=- Member
On the whole I don't think I'd have a major problem with it, but some people might. What you're actually doing here is trying to claim that Thunder Hammer models should count as powerfists, and trying to do that can cause arguments and unneccessary confusion; you might not forget that the Hammers are Fists, but your opponent might, and he might not make a charge that he otherwise would have if he'd remembered. Personally I don't see why you wouldn't just take both; take the 2x TH blokie as a Captain, Calgar as your 2nd HQ, and a Command Squad with a couple of power weapons or Storm Shields or something. FnP squad with Calgar and Cpt. Two-Hammers is scary.
In addition to Frank's suggestion, if you're dead set on having the dual TH guy as your chapter master (And there's nothing wrong with that, I'm the same way with my DIY CM) then bring some extra HQ choices just in case. WYSIWYG fanatics might call you out on that so be weary of that, but I'd like to think that this is a game made for people with creative imaginations. Something like this should be right up the alley for most players. If you're having a tough sell, bring an index card with Calgar's stat line or mark Calgar's section in the codex to show your opponent(s) that you're mindful of your "counts as" model.
Looks like this guy has wrist mounted storm bolters as well, looks like you'll have little trouble getting an accurate representation of the model. Can't wait to see some pictures, if I wasn't so preoccupied with my own army I'd make a conversion just for fun!
Isn't it written in the codex that it's perfectly legal to do this, or am I thinking of using the character in your own chapter? Either way, I can't see why I would be allowed to use Calgar in my own chapter but be forced to use a model loaded with Ultramarine logos...
If you call it a Missile launcher, then it'll never hit anything.
100% of people who aren't Karmoon know Saraneth is invincible.