Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Question about deploying Orbital Bombardment:
Would I adhere to codex:
"Before forces are deployed, but after deployment zones have been determined"
if so, are counters placed before or after the bombardment deployment?
I would place it with the rest of my army?
thanks a lot
You're supposed to choose the terrain piece you'll assign the Strike to before any forces are deployed, write it down, and then place the counter for it during deployment. That's to prevent you deciding to place it in one piece of terrain and then changing your mind when your opponent deploys his forces nowhere near it.
May I write it down on a piece of paper, and when it comes out from reserves I would introduce the location to my opponent by allowing him to read the paper?
Or I have to actually reveal the location before the game starts?
Also, how would it affect squads sitting on different floors of a building? Do I specify a floor before shooting it each turn, or it hits everything under the template?
Last edited by WhiteRussian; June 16th, 2009 at 10:11.
I'm not 100% sure about this. On the one hand all the Strikes are just Blast weapons, so you'd use the rules for Blast weapons to determine cover saves and targets and whatnot. On the other hand there is no firing model, and technically speaking the LoS is directly above where the template lands, plus it says the Strikes count as Ordnance Barrages for the purposes of inflicting Pinning tests. I'd suggest house-ruling it.Also, how would it affect squads sitting on different floors of a building? Do I specify a floor before shooting it each turn, or it hits everything under the template?
Barrage weapons will always hit the top floor of a building if it's multi-leveled (p.85 - Barrage Weapons).
The thing is Orbital Strikes are not explicitly Barrage weapons; it only counts as one for the purposes of inflicting Pinning tests...
The Daemonhunter summary on the inside back cover of the Codex lists the three Orbital Strikes as "Barrage Ord Blast", which means they would hit the top floor of any building they strike.
That being said, Lance Strikes are very capable of destroying buildings and wounding the occupants as they struggle to escape the concrete landslide.
2H - LEGIO HYDRA