Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Thinking of different uses for harker, as well as implementing a priest... I was curious if attaching a priest to harkers squad would grant the priest infiltrate as well, since the catachan devils special rule grants infiltrate, stealth, and move through cover to his squad... Not sure how this works out with an attached IC
When you attach an Independent Character to a squad the Independent Character counts as part of the squad for all intensive purposes (target selection, coherency, wound allocation, leadership, etc.)
So, yes the Priest would get all of Harker's special abilities.
"The man in the bowler hat is Mr. Average in his anonymity. I, too, wear one; I have no great desire to stand out from the masses." - Rene Magritte
Priests being Independant Characters they have to follow the IC's rules, more precisely the one about "Special Rules" on P.48 of BRB.
Catachan's devil rule specifically apply to "Harker and his squad" (Squad referring to the vets) which, technically the priest is not part of and so i would be inclined to say Harker do not gives Infiltrate & Move Throught Cover USRs to ICs (Priests included) that join the squad. Forcing the application of the previously mentionned rule on P.48 which mean the squad cannot infiltrate while joined by the priest.
This is just my interpretation of the rules that being said, you are welcome (and encouraged) to prove it wrong (there is no shame in improving your understanding of the rules.).
My logic for why Harker DOES NOT grant the rules "move through cover" and "scout" (but does grant "stealth") is as follows:
1) Harker is an upgrade character, not an IC. Since he is an upgrade of a veteran sergeant in a veteran squad, there is no ambiguity as to whom his squad is. This may be contrasted to IC's with special rues that contain text such as "... any squad the IC is attached to gains the yadee yadee yadee rule. Exhibit A: Commisars and Stubborn Exhibit B: Chaplain and Litanies of Hate
2) You may join a priest to the squad containing Harker, as a priest may join any infantry unit unless otherwise explicitly prohibited
3) Harker has a special rule IG Codex pg 62. "Catachan Devils" which allows him to grant his squad 3 special rules: "move through cover", "infiltrate", and "stealth". As such, the squad has the rule
4) Referencing pg 74 of the BRB, 2 of the three special rules are explicitly LOST by the squad by addition of the priest, "...these rules are also lost by a unit that is joined by an independent character that does not have the same special rule."