Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
3 - boltgun stops the marine getting the attack bonus
4 - doesnt matter what the marine has providing it doesnt clearly state he cant get the bonus attack
I remember seeing something like this a long time ago on here but I cannot for the life in me find the original thread or the answers it brought, so I'm forced to repost unfortunately.
The question -
A Marine with 2 base attacks, a bolt pistol, power weapon and boltgun. How many attacks does he get on the charge? 3 or 4?
I personally believe this marine would have 3 attacks on the charge, as the boltgun does not allow the marine to gain the bonus attack for 2CCW's, even though he has them (2handed weapon and all that).
Drag out the RAW lawyers and codices to hand then place your bets!
I know there is something similar with the chaos space marines as they get similar wargear/stats, and I could not find anything on their forum either...
Thanks in advance for info/poll choices.
EDIT :- I found something in the Chaos FAQ that states you simply chose which weapons you are using for that phase - granting the attack bonus. Is this right?
Last edited by CleanRabbit; June 19th, 2009 at 12:18.
The whole 2 handed weapons thing in 5th ed has been screwed around with because they do not label what is a two handed weapon and what isn't in newer codexs. My gaming group have it so marine in this situation gets 4 attacks.
So if the entry in the codex for this particular unit has the following option :-
"May replace his Boltgun for a Combat Blade for XXXpoints"
Does this hold anything other than aesthetic value?
A boltgun is a ranged weapon. It doesn't interact with, and is not affected by, the rules for close combat weapons or attacks at all; therefore, if a model has a boltgun, bolt pistol and power weapon, you can simply ignore the boltgun as if it wasn't there when it comes to close combat. As far as the CC rules go it doesn't exist (unless you fire it in the shooting phase, in which case you can't assault).
Because of the way taking wargear for models has changed now the only time the 2-handed thing matters is in the case of close combat weapons. If your Marine had a Relic Blade, a boltgun and a bolt pistol he'd never get the +1 bonus attack from the pistol, but only because the Relic Blade is a 2-handed CCW. The boltgun is irrelevant.
The way I see it is like this; if your Marine has 2 base attacks and his normal wargear is a boltgun and bolt pistol, but has the option of adding a CCW to his weapon loadout without removing either the bolter or pistol, taking the extra CCW will grant him a bonus attack regardless of wether or not he has a boltgun, or indeed any other ranged weapon that'd normally be considered 2-handed. He would therefore have 3 attacks base (2 base +1 for the CCW) and would get 4 attacks on the charge.
If his base wargear was a bolt pistol, CCW and boltgun, and he only had 2 base attacks, he wouldn't get the +1 bonus for having a pistol and CCW and therefore would only get 3 attacks on the charge.
Standard Marines, only come with Boltgun and a Bolt Pistol. Swapping out the boltgun for a combat knife, will reduce your range capabilities and give you 2 CCWs.
Swapping out the bolt pistol, for a combat knife. Will reduce the ability for your marine to fire once during the charge. And the marine will not have 2 CCWs and therefore lose the +1A for having 2 CCWs.
IIRC its the chapter champion in the honour guard who can swap his bolter for a combt blade. This is purely aesthetic and was included because the current model has a power weapon and a combat blade and no bolter. If there wasn't that option then it wouldn't fit WYSIWYG at all. It was done so that model would still be legal to use as the chapter champion in tournies.
40K armies: Tyranids (2001), Space Wolves (2008), Sisters of Battle (2011)
Current Rep: 1337
Phalanx is correct on the Bolter for Combat blade at XXX cost issue.
Basically what you need to know is that in 5th edition if a model has 2 one handed weapons they can use those 2 one handed weapons in combat to gain a bonus attack. The main thing is that they will actually have to be utilizing those 2 specific weapons to do it though.
Eg 1: A model has a Bolt pistol, a CCW and a relic blade. In any given round of combat the model can choose which weapons it will use. In this case it can choose to use the Bolt Pistol and CCW and hence gain +1 attack, but won't be able to use the benefits of the Relic blade. This model could also use the Relic blade instead, but wouldn't get +1 attack as the Relic blade is a two hander.
EG 2: This is your example, where a model has a Power Weapon, Bolt Pistol and Bolter. This model can choose to use whichever weapon loadout in a round of combat it wants, just like above. So this model could for example use the Power weapon and Bolt Pistol for +1 attack and the bonus of the power weapon, or they could choose to simply attack with their two handed bolter...though why they would do this is beyond us.
It should be noted that what weapon you used in the shooting phase has absolutely no effect on which weapons you decide to use in the Assault phase.
Nevermore Chapter: 6200 pts; 97/49/11; Longest Streak: 9 Wins/4 Losses; Nearing Completion
Why not ask a more direct question. It seems to me, you'd get a far more clear answer. Free Tip: Honour guard a bad unit for the points.