Welcome to Librarium Online!
Hello there folks
I was browsing the new Imperial Guard codex and may have found a loophole. I will not write anything that gives away too much information and violates terms of service because I want this thread to stay open, heheh. I will try my best to be descriptive though.
I was reading about Chimeras. Twelve models can ride in one, it has 5 fire points, and an access point as the rear, okay .. gotcha. There's absolutely nothing which states "only one squad may be deployed in a Chimera at a time", or even "only one unit may be transported by a Chimera at any given time", nothing like that at all. It's not even addressed. *Fast Forward to the Army List / Points section*
So I am looking at the Elites section, looking at Stormtroopers, whom we all know quite a bit about from the previous codex. Now, they have 4 Stormtroopers and a Seargent per squad, two of which may take special weapons. You have an option to purchase 5 more regular equipped Stormtroopers, but lets say you decide not to. So then, lets say you purchased two of these squads, two 5-man Stormtrooper squads, and in each squad two men have melta-guns. As far as I can read, there is nothing in the rules which states that both of these 5-man squads couldn't ride insde the same Chimera, still being below 12 models. Heck, you could even throw an independant character into the Chimera also if you wanted to.
To those who think this is illegal: Allow me to ask you, why is it then that Independant Characters which are treated as a seperate HQ choice unto themselves allowed to ride in Chimeras with the squad of their choice .. so long as they do not exceed 12 models? Is this not essentially two units being transported in one Chimera at the same time, according to the rules? To me that would mean you could stick two 5-man squads in a single Chimera as well, or as I said, two 5-man squads and an independant character, or even 2 if you wanted to risk that many points on a single transport.
I do not have the actual rulebook handy @ the moment so I cannot check to see if there are any of those uber "all encompassing" rules which trump all other rules given in all Codexes or not. The only way I would think this would be illegal is if there is indeed some oversight rule in the rulebook which states only 1 squad may be in a transport at a tme, which it does not say in the Imperial Guard codex, not even close.
So . . . what is it folks? Two 5-man squads of Stormtroopers with 4 Melta-guns and a Commissar Lord with a Powersword & Boltpistol, or just one squad? I'm essentially just trying to squeeze some extra special weapons out of the deal, while at the same time making it easier to be forced to take a morale check due to only having 5 men in a squad -- a fair trade off wouldn't you say?
Last edited by rune; June 23rd, 2009 at 16:44.
Yah I was pretty sure you couldnt do this but I checked it up in the rulebook. It clearly states you can only transfer a single squad and independant character(s) as long as the limit is not exceeded. Their goes that idea.
p66 Transport capacity
A transport may carry a single infantry unit and/or any number of independent characters (as long as they count as infantry), up to a total of models equal to the vehicle's transport capacity.
well, so much for that idea, although if deployed on foot .. two 5 man squads would be alot better than 1 ten man squad.
or, the stormtrooper squads could be made small, 5 or 6 models, with 2 meltaguns or plasmaguns, and just stick one in each Chimera, and bring like 3 Chimeras. The third would have the Command HQ, which would be tooled for assault with 2 extra veterans, meltaguns, and a priest.
funny, i could do the same thing with veterans except be even more effective. HMM .. perhaps the solution is to make units of stormtroopers between 5-10 models, not 10 and not 5, but 6-8 models, and deploy them on the ground to work their way across the board. A regular infantry platoon could be backing them up, and the stormtroopers would give them that extra "oomph", especially considering I'd get 2 special weapons per squad of 5 or more. Thats 4 plasma guns per 10 models, and the stormtrooper seargents can be equipped with power weapons if im not mistaken.
Everyone else could be riding in a transport :-)
This seems like as good a place as any to bring up another question, what about superheavies? If a stormlord can carry 40 dudes does that mean they all have to be one unit (with an IC maybe)?
If so that means your only options are to transport conscripts, or a platoon blob squad with the commander running along next to the stormlord...
p198 has the model type and counts as # of model chart.
Just an FYI, a stormlord with 40 transport capacity can carry 4 sentinels instead =p and the sick part about that is tied with walker rules, and each sentinel only being 1 model for firing purposes, they can fire there weapons on the go!
Last edited by Torden; June 24th, 2009 at 01:51.