Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Lets say you have a skimmer right up against the table edge. Lets say the base or the skimmer is entirely on the table. Does the full skimmer model need to be over the table? Or just the base?
I'd accept just the base. If it were an infantry model it'd be totally legit and I think that would extend to skimmers.
No more NG spearmen, thanks! Now I need some pump-wagons!
The base, most things for skimmers is usually measured from the base, although in typical GW fashion there is a lot of vagueness about the rules.
I wouldn't suggest having them hanging off the table anyway, a £35 model isn't the sort of thing you want smashed because someone knocks it off.
I would strongly suggest the entire model due to the sticky part off dropping templates. Technically if the center goes off the table, the entire template misses. If you are going to allow people hang their models off the table, those would still have to count if they partially hit. Put that suggestion forward then come up with your local ruling.
A rule I would look at for precedence is the deep-strike. Any part of the unit if off the table the unit takes a mishap, so why would a skimmer be allowed to hang off?
Last edited by Torden; June 29th, 2009 at 17:30.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
http://www.gamesandhobbies.com/ New Location Open on the north end!
I'm with torden mainly due the rules he mentioned and the way the BRB describes skimmers. Everything is measured from the model except for assaults ~ which is where the base comes into play.
That being said, I'm not that sticky with the rules, so as long as the opponent wasn't being a jerk, I'd probably let it slide.
The Valkrie particularly pushes this point because it is more than 6" long.
If the entire model, not just the base MUST be on the table then it deans you MUST move over 6" just to be on the table.
I use the base for movement personally.
If there is just a little bit hanging off I feel it is no bog deal. Otherwise I personally would not do it bc that's pushing the rules, IMHO.
yea, generally, i'd say it'd have to be on the table as much as possible.
as most people probably would have said as well before the valkyrie model came out and the whole 6" move and not being completely on the table dilemma in their own gameplay. but that's all been covered before as the valkyrie pushes a lot of vagueries due to it's unique base and shape/size. sigh, they really should have left that out of the codex, but anyways....
probably the only vehicle nowadays that i'd make an exception for since most of the new ig players at my club get in a huff debating over the vehicle.